Does activating one card allow me to activate multiple groups?

By Rumpus, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hey all!

We just played Aftermath for the first time, and we have a question. In this mission, you end up with two squads of grey Stormtroopers and two grey Imperial Officers. Since the game only comes with one card for each, I was using the single card as a reference for both groups. We weren't quite sure how this works under the rules, and came up with a couple of scenarios:

1) All grey Stormtroopers are governed by the same card. If I have all six troopers in play, exhausting the card allows me to activate all six at once.

2) All grey Stormtroopers are governed by the same card, but only one squad activates when the card is exhausted. The other squad is out of luck for the round (seems like it can't be right).

3) The two squads off Stormtroopers are governed by different cards. The Imp Player can keep track of which one is which in small games, but should probably make a copy (or write "Grey Stormtrooper" on a post-it and stick it on another card).

Ironically, the Rebel adult (my brother) thinks option 1 is true, which favors the Imps, and the Imp Player (me) thinks number 3 is true. Clarification appreciated.

Thanks!

Option 3 is the right answer.

The notches/lines on the upper left of the card by the cost tell you how many each squad/group is supposed to have per activation. The Stormtroopers have three lines which mean that you have three models that make up the group and they can have no more of three on the table reinforced with that group.

You seem to be missing game components? The Core game comes with 3 sets of 3 Stormtrooper figures which correspond to 2 gray deployments cards and 1 elite deployment card. You should have 3 deployment cards with the game for Stormtroopers. Same goes for Officers and Probe droids (2 gray, 1 elite in each case). Royal Guards and EWebs have 1 gray and 1 elite.

Hmm, I'll go through my box again. I'm pretty sure I only got one of each card (well, one grey, one red of each card).

Thanks!

The game also comes with little numbered stickers that you stick to all the figures of a group. For example you could stick the Red 1 sticker to 3 Stormtroopers, and then use the Red 1 cardboard token included on the deployment card. That way for the 2 sets of figures, you know which troopers belong to which squad, if they ever get seperated.

Check your manual - it comes with a list of components. Probably a good idea to match that list with what you actually have and check you have all the correct items. By Return to Hoth, Imperial Assault is becoming quite the monster collection of cards, figures, tokens and map pieces that its getting pretty easy to misplace items if i don't double check when I pack up each time.