"Gaining" an ability

By Lifey, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

There are a number of cards which refer to "gaining" an ability.

For example, in Skirmish, Fenn's Trooper Assault, reads "After a friendly TROOPER within 3 spaces resolves an attack, it may gain 'Assault'. Limit once per round."

The "Strike and Subdue" Agenda card reads:

"Keep this card secret. Play it during any mission during a figure's activation. That figure gains:

<Action>: Choose an adjacent hero who has suffered 2 or more <strain>.... (snip)."
When abilities are "gained" in such a manner, are we to assume that the figure only has that ability for its current activation, and then loses it afterwards?

That certainly seems to be the intention and makes the most sense.