Automated Protocols works as intended

By acegard, in X-Wing

From the new Gozanti rulebook: https://scontent-dfw1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xta1/v/t1.0-9/12375992_1086926334653087_30593465046348140_n.jpg?oh=a300db24f3b7ec0d35caf57777f42627&oe=5704BF29

"Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card."

I had seen small debate happening when Automated Protocols was released, arguing that the card did not work at all because, as per the Huge Ship rulebooks to date, "Huge Ships Cannot perform Free Actions." However, the new Gozanti rulebook puts this to rest. Huge Ships can use Automated Protocols as intended!

Awesome. I lost sleep over this.

"Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card"

One of the members of the Back to Dials Facebook group brought this up to me:

"Leebo" crew says to "perform a free boost action." Does this mean that you can boost a Tantive or Transport?

"Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card"

One of the members of the Back to Dials Facebook group brought this up to me:

"Leebo" crew says to "perform a free boost action." Does this mean that you can boost a Tantive or Transport?

Seems like intention is that it shouldn't. Can huge ships use the templates needed to perform a boost action (I haven't really played with them but I recall their being a special maneuver template for them).

"Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card"

One of the members of the Back to Dials Facebook group brought this up to me:

"Leebo" crew says to "perform a free boost action." Does this mean that you can boost a Tantive or Transport?

****...

I'll pre-empt the next arguement:

The Raider can perform free actions, as it is equiped with Automated Protocols (which allows the Raider to perform a free action). The Raider can therefore perform the free action granted by a friendly Squad Leader, as the rules do not specify that a Huge ship can only perform free actions granted by upgrade cards equiped to itself.

Youngster with Squad Leader leading a swarm of VI Black Squadron it is then! :D

(In all seriousness though, I don't think this is what FFG intended. It's just amusing that in trying to fix one problem FFG has created another. (Assuming of course that there isn't another part to the rule that wasn't quoted by OP ;) ))

"Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card"

One of the members of the Back to Dials Facebook group brought this up to me:

"Leebo" crew says to "perform a free boost action." Does this mean that you can boost a Tantive or Transport?

Seems like intention is that it shouldn't. Can huge ships use the templates needed to perform a boost action (I haven't really played with them but I recall their being a special maneuver template for them).

Huge ship boost would use huge ship movement template.

I'll pre-empt the next arguement:

The Raider can perform free actions, as it is equiped with Automated Protocols (which allows the Raider to perform a free action). The Raider can therefore perform the free action granted by a friendly Squad Leader, as the rules do not specify that a Huge ship can only perform free actions granted by upgrade cards equiped to itself.

Youngster with Squad Leader leading a swarm of VI Black Squadron it is then! :D

(In all seriousness though, I don't think this is what FFG intended. It's just amusing that in trying to fix one problem FFG has created another. (Assuming of course that there isn't another part to the rule that wasn't quoted by OP ;) ))

The rule on P. 6 states that, "Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card." The operative word there being "they," indicating that the card has to be equipped to the ship in question.

Huge ship boost would use huge ship movement template.

If it does turn out that Leebo can grant a boost, then I believe this is what they would use. However, I am of the opinion that Leebo is an oversight that will not be allowed.

Hello.

Automated Protocols clearly states that given the right circumstances the huge ship can perform a free recover or reinforce action.

So, no Leebo.

I'll pre-empt the next arguement:

The Raider can perform free actions, as it is equiped with Automated Protocols (which allows the Raider to perform a free action). The Raider can therefore perform the free action granted by a friendly Squad Leader, as the rules do not specify that a Huge ship can only perform free actions granted by upgrade cards equiped to itself.

Youngster with Squad Leader leading a swarm of VI Black Squadron it is then! :D

(In all seriousness though, I don't think this is what FFG intended. It's just amusing that in trying to fix one problem FFG has created another. (Assuming of course that there isn't another part to the rule that wasn't quoted by OP ;) ))

The rule on P. 6 states that, "Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card." The operative word there being "they," indicating that the card has to be equipped to the ship in question.

Huge ship boost would use huge ship movement template.

If it does turn out that Leebo can grant a boost, then I believe this is what they would use. However, I am of the opinion that Leebo is an oversight that will not be allowed.

Why are you of the opinion it will be unallowed? Haven't played much Epic, but would using your action to perform a 1 straight or bank on the huge ship template (using normal rules for boost - no final placement overlaps), be very powerful action for a huge ship? Also note it costs you an energy token next turn because of the ion effect.

Hello.

Automated Protocols clearly states that given the right circumstances the huge ship can perform a free recover or reinforce action.

So, no Leebo.

I guess I am not understanding your assertion - the ruling in question is not whether Automated Protocols works with Leebo, but whether the general ruling that Huge ships can perform "free actions" listed on Upgrade cards allows them to perform a Boost action granted by Leebo.

Hello.

Automated Protocols clearly states that given the right circumstances the huge ship can perform a free recover or reinforce action.

So, no Leebo.

I guess I am not understanding your assertion - the ruling in question is not whether Automated Protocols works with Leebo, but whether the general ruling that Huge ships can perform "free actions" listed on Upgrade cards allows them to perform a Boost action granted by Leebo.

It could be ruled that boost, slam, Barrel role and any number of other actions might not be allowed for huge ships 'just because'. It is an oversight however. Maybe huge ships can only use free actions that are granted by upgrades that just happen to grant actions already on their action bars.

Hello.

Automated Protocols clearly states that given the right circumstances the huge ship can perform a free recover or reinforce action.

So, no Leebo.

But Leebo states that given the right circumstances (being able to Perform an Action), the huge ship can perform a free boost action.

Since huge ships do not ever skip their Perform Action step, aren't the circumstances always right for Leebo?

From the new Gozanti rulebook: https://scontent-dfw1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xta1/v/t1.0-9/12375992_1086926334653087_30593465046348140_n.jpg?oh=a300db24f3b7ec0d35caf57777f42627&oe=5704BF29

"Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card."

I had seen small debate happening when Automated Protocols was released, arguing that the card did not work at all because, as per the Huge Ship rulebooks to date, "Huge Ships Cannot perform Free Actions." However, the new Gozanti rulebook puts this to rest. Huge Ships can use Automated Protocols as intended!

I haven't seen the actual text that came with the Gozanti but that seems poorly written. It's obviously the intent that it makes Automated Protocols work but as it really doesn't do that as written.

This seems to be the "if a card tells you that you can break a rule, you can break a rule" that is inherent in the game. Even thought the example mentions Automated Protocols, nothing in the text of Automated Protocols "allows" a Huge ship to perform free actions.

Good points.

According to the Gozanti rules stated above, Leebo may be fair play.

Maybe it could be fixed by saying that huge ships can perform free actions granted by huge ship only modification upgrade cards.

That would clear it up.

Edited by AARONZEA

However, I am of the opinion that Leebo is an oversight that will not be allowed.

Why are you of the opinion it will be unallowed? Haven't played much Epic, but would using your action to perform a 1 straight or bank on the huge ship template (using normal rules for boost - no final placement overlaps), be very powerful action for a huge ship? Also note it costs you an energy token next turn because of the ion effect.

So, not being able to overlap is good. It is also arguable that the huge ship would gain no energy from the maneuver since it isn't "on the dial," and therefore has a 0 energy gain. Ion token cost is also a balancing factor. But, the precedent that has been set for Huge ships performing extra maneuvers is that they are straight only and cost one energy. The 1-bank, even with the huge ship template, covers a LOT of ground, and twists the ship a significant amount (considering how their arcs face), and might give a Tantive an unbelievable positioning advantage, without appropriate energy cost as a balancing drawback.

I'll pre-empt the next arguement:

The Raider can perform free actions, as it is equiped with Automated Protocols (which allows the Raider to perform a free action). The Raider can therefore perform the free action granted by a friendly Squad Leader, as the rules do not specify that a Huge ship can only perform free actions granted by upgrade cards equiped to itself.

Youngster with Squad Leader leading a swarm of VI Black Squadron it is then! :D

(In all seriousness though, I don't think this is what FFG intended. It's just amusing that in trying to fix one problem FFG has created another. (Assuming of course that there isn't another part to the rule that wasn't quoted by OP ;) ))

The rule on P. 6 states that, "Huge ships cannot perform free actions UNLESS they are equipped with an Upgrade card that allows them to, such as the "Automated Protocols" Upgrade card." The operative word there being "they," indicating that the card has to be equipped to the ship in question.

.Yes. And I'm talking about equipping a Raider with Automated Protocols. Which would mean by the letter of that rule that the Raider can then perform free actions.

What that rule does not say is that "Huge ships can only perform free actions granted by upgrade cards that they are equipped with."

I am firmly of the belief that the latter is FFGs intent, and I will play it as such. I am still forced to at least admit that the strict letter of the quoted rule does allow for free actions from any source (providing you have at least equipped a card that grants free actions). Fortunately, I've only ever seen competitive epic once, so I expect less of a problem with play2win types, but it would be nice if FFG could errata this loophole sooner rather than later (or at least clarify if for some reason it is really intended).

Being discussed here

https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/196532-help-me-to-explain-this-to-someone-else/

This was a bad screw up by FFG. It's clearly meant to enable free actions on the equipped upgrade card, but the new rule doesn't actually say anything about the free action on the upgrade card, it says

Huge Ships cannot perform Free Actions unless they are equipped with an upgrade card that allows them to,

So, the can be equipped an upgrade card that "allows them to". To what? "Perform free actions". The rule does nothing to limit what free actions can be performed. The whole thing is really kind of circular. A huge ship cannot perform free actions unless they are equipped with a card that allows them to perform free actions. Gee, thanks for telling us that.

What the rule needs to say is

"Huge ships cannot perform free actions except for those granted by their own equipped upgrade cards." And

"Huge ships cannot perform boosts or barrel rolls." To deal with Leebo.

For those thinking it would boost the way a huge ship executes a 1 speed maneuver, reread the rules for performing a boost.

However, I am of the opinion that Leebo is an oversight that will not be allowed.

Why are you of the opinion it will be unallowed? Haven't played much Epic, but would using your action to perform a 1 straight or bank on the huge ship template (using normal rules for boost - no final placement overlaps), be very powerful action for a huge ship? Also note it costs you an energy token next turn because of the ion effect.

So, not being able to overlap is good. It is also arguable that the huge ship would gain no energy from the maneuver since it isn't "on the dial," and therefore has a 0 energy gain. Ion token cost is also a balancing factor. But, the precedent that has been set for Huge ships performing extra maneuvers is that they are straight only and cost one energy. The 1-bank, even with the huge ship template, covers a LOT of ground, and twists the ship a significant amount (considering how their arcs face), and might give a Tantive an unbelievable positioning advantage, without appropriate energy cost as a balancing drawback.

Hmm makes sense. Also just realized that the Ion token would have no effect, since the Perform Action step is after the Energy phase and all Ion tokens are removed at the end of the Activation phase. So Move --> Energy Collect --> Leebo Action --> get ion --> remove ion.

However, I am of the opinion that Leebo is an oversight that will not be allowed.

Why are you of the opinion it will be unallowed? Haven't played much Epic, but would using your action to perform a 1 straight or bank on the huge ship template (using normal rules for boost - no final placement overlaps), be very powerful action for a huge ship? Also note it costs you an energy token next turn because of the ion effect.

So, not being able to overlap is good. It is also arguable that the huge ship would gain no energy from the maneuver since it isn't "on the dial," and therefore has a 0 energy gain. Ion token cost is also a balancing factor. But, the precedent that has been set for Huge ships performing extra maneuvers is that they are straight only and cost one energy. The 1-bank, even with the huge ship template, covers a LOT of ground, and twists the ship a significant amount (considering how their arcs face), and might give a Tantive an unbelievable positioning advantage, without appropriate energy cost as a balancing drawback.

Hmm makes sense. Also just realized that the Ion token would have no effect, since the Perform Action step is after the Energy phase and all Ion tokens are removed at the end of the Activation phase. So Move --> Energy Collect --> Leebo Action --> get ion --> remove ion.

Good point, hadn't thought of that. Much how Connor Netting an already ionized ship removes all ion tokens after the ship executes the ionization maneuver.

Leebo presents a problem because you could engine booster before your maneuver, do your maneuver, then perform a boost action. That is a lot of moving for a ship of that class.

Will have to wait and see how this corner case gets resolved.

Edited by Sergovan

I really don't think you'd want to huge ship boost. Due to overlap it's gonna be almost impossible after the first turn and it could easily put you in a position to go off the board.