Interaction between Brutality and Bodyguard

By Cremate, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I'm curious on how these two interact.

Brutality (Darth Vader or the Royal Guard Champion) reads: " Perform 2 attacks. Each attack must have a different target. "

Bodyguard is a command card that can be played by any Guardian and it reads: " Use when an attack targeting an adjacent friendly figure is declared. If you could be the target of that attack, the attack targets your instead. "

There are two ways in which these two can interact, either during the first or during the second of the two attacks performed during Brutality. Since Brutality cannot attack the same target twice, the question is which figures have in fact been the target of the attack when Bodyguard enters the mix and bearing in mind that whichever interpretation we use, it must be logically consistent regardless of whether the Bodyguard card was playing during the first or the second attack.

----

Let's us imagine that Darth Vader is positioned so that he can attack both Figure A and Figure B (which happens to be adjacent).

Situation #1: Bodyguard is played during the first attack

Darth Vader declared that he will attack A, but B plays Bodyguard forcing Vader to attack B instead. After that attack is resolved, Vader is about to launch his second attack, but Brutality requires him to attack different target, so who can he attack in this situation?

1.1 Vader can only attack A, as he already attacked B (because of Bodyguard)

1.2 Vader can only attack B, as he already attacked A (who was the declared target before Bodyguard)
1.3 Neither, as both of them have already been the target of an attack from Vader (one declared and one resolved).
1.4 Either, because of fuzzy logics and because Vader never got to resolve his attack on A and the attack on B was in an interrupt window (or staggered action as they are sometimes called elsewhere)


Situation #2: Bodyguard is played during the second attack

Darth Vader has already attacked B with his first attack and is now declaring that he will perform his second attack on A. However, B interrupts by playing the Bodyguard command card. What happens next?

2.1 The rules for Brutality have priority and Brutality does not allow Vader to attack the same target twice and since B could not be the target of said attack he cannot play Bodyguard at all.

2.2 The general rules for attacking have priority. B is clearly a possible target for Vaders attack (being adjacent for melee), so Bodyguard is succesfully played and Vader proceeds to attack B for a second time while resolving Brutality.

2.3 Bodyguard has priority, but the restriction of Brutality stays in effect. Playing Bodyguard forces Vader to try to attack B instead (as B is a legitimite target for a melee attack), but does not get to actually perform the attack (as Vader has already attacked B once during this use of Brutality). Bummer.


Please let me know if there are more options or angles that I've missed. My gut feeling is 1.1 and 2.2, but I included the other options to be able to contrast the consequence of different takes on how they interact. Let me hear what you think and - even more importantly - if any of you have been able to find any official rulings on this (I have tried, but failed, though I might poke FFG for their interpretation at some point).

Edited by Cremate

I would go 1.1 (under the assumption that no other figure is adjacent to Vader).

I'm confident that once bodyguard and attack have both resolved B was the target and A was not.

My other choice would be:

2.4 The rule for Brutality has priority and Brutality does not allow Vader to attack the same target twice and, since B could not be the target of said attack, if he plays bodyguard it will do nothing.

(So effectively 2.1 but B could technically play the card to no effect, note that the condition for becoming the target of the attack is separate to the conditions under which you play the card).

Situation #1: 1.1 would be the legal play. Bodyguard changes who the declared target is. A is no longer a declared target. B would get attacked first, followed by A.

Situation #2: Playing Bodyguard would have no effect in Situation #2, because Bodyguard states B has to be a legal target , and Brutality prevents B from being the target twice. Therefore, B is not a legal target. (Agree with Norgrath's 2.4).

The net effect here is that both A and B would get attacked once, and the only reason you would play Bodyguard would be if Vader were focused or had some other effect that you wanted Vader's first attack to be directed at instead of Vader's chosen target.