A few questions...

By Philiptheblue, in Rules questions & answers

Hi all,

I have just purchased the core set and have a few questions:

1. I believe the term 'hero' relates only to the 3 heroes you have in play. Therefore what does the term 'character' mean? e.g. 'you heal 2 points from any character' does this mean just allies in play or both heroes and allies.

2. Is it true that you cannot have two of the same ally in play at the same time? e.g. you cannot have two of the ally 'Henamarth Riversong' in play at the same time?

These related specifically to the 'lore' deck from the core set:

3. The ally 'Henamarth Riversong' has the following action 'Exhaust Henamarth Riversong to look at the top card of the encounter deck.' If I do not use Henamarth Riversong for any other action e.g. on a quest, can I continue to use the ability over and over again every turn to constantly check the top card each turn?

4. The attachment 'Forest Snare' has the following action 'Attach to an enemy engaged with a player. Attached enemy cannot attack.' Is there any rule as to how long this attachment lasts? Nothing is mentioned on the card. Does it stay in affect until the encounter deck removes it somehow or does it have a specific amount of turns?

5. The attachment 'Self-Preservation' has the following action 'Exhaust self preservation to heal 2 points of damage from attached character.' Does the attachment remain on the character once this action is done? Does it refresh at the refresh phase and then can it be used again? Does it only last for so many turns?

Thank you in advance

Hero - Only the 1-3 you start with.

Ally - Only the ones from your deck.

Character - Any from either group.

There is a mark next to the name of any "Unique" card. You can only have 1 card of this name in play at a time across the table. Gandalf is unique, all heroes are unique too.

Yes you can use his ability every turn. In fact you can use it every time he is ready, so if you can ready him you could look at a card at the end of the quest phase to see what may be dealt as a shadow card, and then again after combat to see what will be revealed during the next turn quest phase.

Forest Snare lasts until it is destroyed, either by the enemy it is attached to being destroyed or some other effect. Even though the card is attached to an enemy, the person who played it still controls it, so a shadow effect like "discard an attachment you control" or "discard every attachment you control" can get rid of it.

Yes this attachment remains on the character. Allies and attachments both remain in play until destroyed by some action.

Edited by shosuko

Thank you for clarification.

Hero - Only the 1-3 you start with.

Ally - Only the ones from your deck.

Character - Any from either group.

There is a mark next to the name of any "Unique" card. You can only have 1 card of this name in play at a time across the table. Gandalf is unique, all heroes are unique too.

Yes you can use his ability every turn. In fact you can use it every time he is ready, so if you have Unexpected Courage on him you could look at a card at the end of the quest phase to see what may be dealt as a shadow card, and then again after combat to see what will be revealed during the next turn quest phase.

Forest Snare lasts until it is destroyed, either by the enemy it is attached to being destroyed or some other effect. Even though the card is attached to an enemy, the person who played it still controls it, so a shadow effect like "discard an attachment you control" or "discard every attachment you control" can get rid of it.

Yes this attachment remains on the character. Allies and attachments both remain in play until destroyed by some action.

One note of clarification is that Unexpected Courage can only attach to a hero so in general you cannot attach Unexpected Courage to Henamarth Riversong (although some newer cards will change this a bit).

Yeah you're right, I"m such a noob XD