Surge declared before die?

By Giulio, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello,

We always played at home just for fun, today we started to think that maybe we applied a rule badly.

I have to declare how I spend my surge before or later I see the die result?

After all dice are rolled, rerolled and modifiers are applied, surges are then spent.

"Steps of an Attack", RRG, Page 5"

When a figure performs an attack, it resolves the following steps:

1. Declare Target: Based upon its attack type (P or O), the figure performing the attack (referred to as the attacker) declares one eligible target for the attack (referred to as the target).

-- For a melee attack (P), an eligible target is any hostile figure adjacent to the attacker. For a ranged attack (O), an eligible target is any hostile figure within line of sight of the attacker.

2. Roll Dice: The attacker rolls his attack dice at the same time as the defender rolls defense dice (listed under “Defense” on the target figure’s Hero sheet or Deployment card).

3. Rerolls: If players have any effects that reroll dice, they are resolved now.
-- Each die may be rerolled only once per attack regardless of who is rerolling the die.

4. Apply Modifiers: If players have any effects that gain or remove icons or Accuracy, they are applied at this time. This includes spending F (evade) results to remove B results. Any B abilities that provide modifiers are not resolved until step 5.

5. Spend Surges: If the attacker has any B results, he may spend them to trigger special abilities.

6. Check Accuracy: If performing a ranged attack (O) the total Accuracy value must be equal to or greater than the number of spaces the target is away from the attacker. (See “Counting Spaces” on page 9). If the total Accuracy value is less than this number, the attack is a miss.

7. Calculate Damage: The total number of G (block) results is subtracted from the total number of H (damage) results, and then the target suffers all remaining H.

Edited by Fizz

roll all the Dice, attack and defence

Re-roll, with any effects.

apply Surge cancels.

Spend remaining surges on what you can

Edited by Spidey NZ