TLT also gives a range 1 blindspot on the sides. I think I'd rather have a range 3 blindspot off the sides.
The Ghost!
Autoblaster is probably as good for this deterrence. And it's cheaper. But I like dorsal just to pick up fcs tl.TLT also only performs 1 attack, so I'd say it's not that good for 6pts.
I actually like Dorsal Turret - it has a very specific usefulness against ships trying to get Range 1 so they can unload 3-4 dice into a lumbering target.
True, and Range 1-only of a large base is no joke, but it does limit the bonus shot a bit.
TLT also only performs 1 attack, so I'd say it's not that good for 6pts.
I actually like Dorsal Turret - it has a very specific usefulness against ships trying to get Range 1 so they can unload 3-4 dice into a lumbering target.
TLT's limitations have to be weighed against TLT being the far preferable turret when you deploy the shuttle and lose the aux arc
it's also just dumb with FCS
the preferable turret is going to depend a lot on the build of the ghost
Edited by ficklegreendiceCan you take Extra Munitions twice?
In theory sure, but no ship so far has more than 2 torpedo slots. Epic ships could have 3, but extra munitions would be pointless on them.
Can you take Extra Munitions twice?
In theory sure, but no ship so far has more than 2 torpedo slots. Epic ships could have 3, but extra munitions would be pointless on them.
Can you take Extra Munitions twice?
In theory sure, but no ship so far has more than 2 torpedo slots. Epic ships could have 3, but extra munitions would be pointless on them.
Extra Munitions is a Limited upgrade. You can only take 1.
Extra Munitions increases missles and bombs as well as torpedoes, so being able to take 2 would absolutely have a benefit if you could do so.
I haven't seen anyone mention this but rather unique that the card allows you to shoot, then all other ships shoot, and then you shoot at the end of the phase with the turret like a ps0
![]()
You mean Corran with a turret, right?
I'm thinking you only use the turret you buy for the Ghost while the Phantom is docked, correct? It would explain why they give you two dorsal turret cards.
Really makes me wonder if you are better off buying a TLT for the Ghost and the dorsal or ion for the Phantom. Or am I missing something in the way the dorsal interacts with the title cards?
nope
you use the turret whenever, the Phantom title gives Ghost an extra attack (using the turret) at the end phase of combat
there's two dorsals because the shuttle can take turrets too
TLT is almost always the superior investment, but slorping two ships into one inevitably makes it prohibitively expensive and Dorsals are a far less pushy investment (and a potential 8 total attack dice isn't bad, esp against low agility)
TLT is just a bad investment for the Ghost. Using the title. You are likely only to get one of TLT attacks at the end of the phase (see Cluster Missile/Gunner ruling). And if you are using the TLT instead of the primary, you are in a very, very bad position in terms of damage output for the Ghost, with how expensive it will be. Everything points to this ship needing to be aggressive at Range 1 instead of staying at Range 3 to snipe.
Thematic:
By the way YASB has the new stuff loaded.
He is always so on top of things. Best squad builder by far. Only one I use anymore.
Alright that would apply to the Phantom's pilot ability itself. The Phantom's upgrade cards (crew, turrent, ept) on the the other hand I believe would still come into play.Docked ships don't attack, can't be attacked, don't use actions and don't reveal maneuvers until undocked. No bombs or mines.
How?
There is no mechanism for the phantom to have any interaction with anything while its docked.
Any idea if the Phantom can physically dock with the Ghost model?
He is always so on top of things.
To be fair. Voidstate is in the UK and it's a good bit latter there then it is in the US.
Any idea if the Phantom can physically dock with the Ghost model?
No, it cannot.
Edited by SithborgIG-2000 would disagree
Check again, it says "first Rebel ship"
IG-2000 would disagree
Check again, it says "first Rebel ship"
Check again several hours ago before it was edited.
Based on the show REBELS ...
Tie Defenders would like to have a word with your logic.
Edited by KdubbNot of fan of the expansion though I seem to be the only one. The new turrets are nice.
Good catch! Maybe run him on someone like Leebo with Intimidation? 37 points, activates at PS5 so still a solid ace blocker.
So my brother pointed this out...due to the wording on Zeb, it would negate the use of Intimidation by the same ship (they are not considered "touching" when the ship is shooting. Such a shame, I was hoping intimidation would be worth it, but no.
Good catch. That being said I think Intimidation still becomes extremely useful with Zeb Crew on the board. A kitted out Ghost is going to be limited on what kind of support it brings. Adding Intimidation on another ship with the sole intention of playing bumper cars is still going to create opportunities for the Ghost to get that mega shot off. Heck, just the threat of it alone is going to force some ships to run away.
There's also Arvel at PS 6 w/ Autothrusters and Intimidation for 25 points w/ refit. 30 for Prockets. IG's run in terror from that duo wouldn't they?
Question: What is it that allows Arvel to move first so he can block?
the Ghost was approximately 2/3 - 3/4 the size of the transport. Yet the Transport is considered a "Huge" ship while the Ghost is a "Large" ship.
The Goz is actually 1/270 unlike other Epic ships, but it will be the smallest epic I think we'll ever see. The Ghost will likewise be the largest non-epic we'll ever see.
Yes but even though the Gonzati is larger is isn't as durable as the Ghost.
I'm thinking you only use the turret you buy for the Ghost while the Phantom is docked, correct? It would explain why they give you two dorsal turret cards.
Really makes me wonder if you are better off buying a TLT for the Ghost and the dorsal or ion for the Phantom. Or am I missing something in the way the dorsal interacts with the title cards?
You can still use the turret as your regular attack if the target is out of arc. Then you could use the turret again in the end phase.
I though:
Ships normally get 1 single attack and if you attack with your turret you're done.
BUT!!! If you have the ghost you may attack and have a follow up attack with a turret at the end of combat.
So if I understand the article
A) No three attacks.
B) If you attack with the turret first you're done attacking
Did I get this wrong because I see several saying they can attack with the turret then attack twice more and I just don't see it reading that way.
You can make an attack per normal, primary or secondary. This means you can shoot the 4 dice primary, or you can shoot with the turret, or you can fire a torpedo if you want. Then you get a free attack with the turret. That's all it says. Practically, this means you can either do a primary than turret or do two turret attacks.
Turret plus Gunner means you attack again with primary if you missed, but no other attacks.
Phantom docked means you attack with primary and the again with the Corran Turret, but no other attacks.
Primary with gunner means attack with primary if you missed, no other attacks.
TLT can be the turret but if can only fire once (max one damage) if fired at the end of the round with Phantom upgrade.
Let me know if I forgot anything.
I see how you get this.
Hmm, I didn't read it that way.
I'm thinking you only use the turret you buy for the Ghost while the Phantom is docked, correct? It would explain why they give you two dorsal turret cards.
Really makes me wonder if you are better off buying a TLT for the Ghost and the dorsal or ion for the Phantom. Or am I missing something in the way the dorsal interacts with the title cards?
You can still use the turret as your regular attack if the target is out of arc. Then you could use the turret again in the end phase.
I though:
Ships normally get 1 single attack and if you attack with your turret you're done.
BUT!!! If you have the ghost you may attack and have a follow up attack with a turret at the end of combat.
So if I understand the article
A) No three attacks.
B) If you attack with the turret first you're done attacking
Did I get this wrong because I see several saying they can attack with the turret then attack twice more and I just don't see it reading that way.
The three attacks is wrong, unless they are referring to TLTs. You get your normal attack, which can be primary or turret. Then you get your turret attack at the end of the phase.
I see how you get this.
Hmm, I didn't read it that way.
![]()
A card with that much text is inevitably going to be misunderstood plenty.