Resource icon match vs putting into play

By Jban, in Rules questions & answers

Hi all,

It has been a while but I'm really curious to put some new cards in play and I wondered how versatile my decks can be for these cards to enter play. The cards I'm intending to play all have a "put into play" effect. My question can you put the the following cards into play without a resource match?

Curious-Brandybuck.jpg Elven-Jeweler.jpg Emery.png

To clarify, this question is for putting these cards in play by their Action/Response. Not by purchasing them during the planning phase.

Gr,

Jban

You can put them into play without a resource match.

Good luck doing so with Emery though! :) If you're running a deck without any spirit hero, you probably have more than a few cards from other spheres in there (although if you're looking just to exploit her deck discard ability, that will work fine)

I think yes, because in each case you are filling the cost and not playing them normally.

As GrandSpleen say though, how to do it with Emery is tricky! I guess there are enough neutral cards now...

I was wondering about this one too... I assume you can play them because these actions have no cost, not 0 cost.

I e-mailed Caleb about this a few months ago. You don't need a resource match. :) Here's his reply:

"A resource match is require to play a card, but you do not need a resource match to put a card into play. Therefore, you do not need a resource match to trigger the Response effect on Curious Brandybuck.

Cheers,
Caleb"