Silver Harp Response Trigger

By JanB, in Rules questions & answers

Hi Folks,

after i've read that the action from Treebeard do not boost him if you cancel the dealt damage by e.g. Close Call here some questions about the Silver Harp and their response:

1) Can i boost Éowyn if i got my card back by silver harp? - i think no, because i do not have paid the cost actually

2) Can i draw a card by Erestor if i got my discarded card back by silver harp? - i think no, because i do not have paid the cost actually

3) Can i draw a card by Galdor of the Havens if i got my discarded card back by silver harp? - i think yes, because it's a response with the same trigger as silver harp

4) Can i prevent Trollshaw Scout and Watcher of the Bruinen from being discarded if silver harp gets my discarded card back into mein hand? - i think no, because i do not have paid the cost actually

5) Can i prevent Emery from being discarded if i got the non-spirit-cards back to my hand via silver harp? - i think yes, because there are no non-spirit-cards discarded that way

Edited by JanB

Good question... I believe that because Silver Harp is not a true "cancellation" effect, the considerations brought up by the Close Call/Treebeard situation don't apply, and thus you have paid the cost required by your #1, 2, and 4.

As for #5, Emery should get discarded if any one of the cards discarded is Leadership/Tactics/Lore, regardless of "rescuing" said card with Silver Harp. After all, getting to take the card back into your hand doesn't change the fact that the card was actually discarded (again, because Silver Harp is not a cancellation effect).

Silver Harp is not a cancellation (it doesn't says something like "if you would discard a card, exhaust Silver Harp and do not discard the card"). It waits until you have discarded the card, and then returns it to your hand, so the cost for Eowyn and so on has been paid. The card was still discarded.

Edited by NathanH

Agree with the above responses... Also, you can't use Silver Harp to save cards that were discarded by Emery's effect. Emery discards them from your deck, while the Harp can only save cards that were discarded from your hand.

@all: You are absolutly right. I haven't read the response carefully.. there is no cancelling of discard a card, the trigger specifies "after discarding a card", so you always pay the cost by discarding a card and then you may trigger Silver Harp.

For Emery .. my fault. had in mind that you discard from your hand, but it's from your deck, so no chance for Silver Harp to trigger.

When a card effect mentions ''after'', it usualy doesn't affect what you did before.

:) .. another question about Silver Harp and Emery.

If i have to discard her in reference to her Action ( i have discarded some non-spirit-cards) .. can i get her back into my hand by using the silver harp?

I think not .. because she left my hand, lies on the table and gets discarded... right?

Correct, she isn't being discarded from your hand.