A couple of questions

By Farjord, in Rules questions & answers

I have a couple of rules questions that came up from last time I played that I haven't been able to find an answer for.

Firstly, If an Ent ability, specifically Beechbone in this case ( http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/angmar-awakened-cycle/the-battle-of-carn-d-m/beechbone-r1663 ) causes the character to die, does their effect still take place? Can Beechbone put a damage on himself to deal 4 damage to an enemy, or does the card get removed as soon as the damage token is placed, negating the effect? I ruled that you would be able to take the damage, but the effect would get cancelled because Beechbone would no longer be in play?

Secondly, if The Power of Angmar is in play ( http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/the-lost-realm/the-power-of-angmar-r1333 ) stopping you being able to remove cards from your discard pile, are you able to play Lord of the Eldar? ( http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/lotr/lord-of-the-rings-card-spoiler/_/angmar-awakened-cycle/the-battle-of-carn-d-m/lords-of-the-eldar-r1666 )

I ruled that I was not able to play Lords of the Eldar in this second case, but wasn't 100% sure and wanted to clarify.

Thank you for any advise.

To me (i just guess):

1. you still deal damage even if Beechbone leaves game (once an effect is triggered, it remains till is closed)

2. you can't play the event. Text of Power of Angmar is very clear, you can't quit any card by any player card's effect.

Edited by Mndela

To me (i just guess):

1. you still deal damage even if Beechbone leaves game (once an effect is triggered, it remains till is closed)

2. you can't play the event. Text of Power of Angmar is very clear, you can't quit any card by any player card's effect.

I agree with you on number 2, but number 1 I'm not so sure.

I guess if you activated Beechbone's ability resulting in him being destroyed, then you could argue that you would deal "X" damage where X is the amount of damage on Beechbone (which is zero since you remove damage tokens from characters that leave play). So I suppose you can argue that you still resolve the ability, but since Beechbone no longer has any damage on him you would deal precisely zero damage. I am not certain this argument is correct, though. I feel like it might get interrupted and just not fully resolve.

Edit: I guess if Beechbone creates a passive effect (not certain it does), then you could argue that a character leaving play as a result of having damage greater than or equal to its maximum hit points is also a passive effect and the first player could choose the order in which they resolve.

Edited by cmabr002

1 - lotr lcg rules page 20 - Hit Points and Damage

...Any time one of these cards has 0 hit points, it is immediately defeated. Defeated characters are placed in their owner’s discard pile, and defeated enemies are placed in the encounter discard pile...

I'm not sure whether the effect would persist or not, but this clearly removes the character from play immediately, at which point it has zero damage tokens on it. Whether the effect would persist or not, with zero damage tokens on the character it would deal no damage with it's ability as cmabr002 stated.

However - I would like to know if abilities do persist if the character that is the source of the effect is destroyed.

2 - lotr lcg errata (1.15) The word “then” If a card effect uses the word “then,” then the preceding effect must resolve successfully for the subsequent dependent effect to resolve.

So the card reads

Action: Place Lords of the Eldar on the bottom of your deck from your discard pile. Then, until the end of the round all Noldor character get +1 [Willpower], +1 [Attack], and +1 [Defense].

I would say this clearly cannot be played since you cannot resolve the first effect, and the second effect is dependent on the first effect resolution.

Edited by shosuko

In a recent video, Matt Newman immediately shot down the idea of Beechbone's ability continuing after he was killed. Here's the video and they talk about it at about 8:25.

Make sense with the new ruling of «checking the state when a lasting event should affect something» where we check current ressource on the heroes when using Blood of Numenor.

So, when you resolve "where X is the number of damage" it is 0 since it's dead.

Thank you all very much for your answers :)