Massive Figures and "edges"

By CaineHoA, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

What does the following sentence mean?
"They can also move through and end their movement on blocked or impassable edges " p16, Rules Reference Guide

In the sentence right before that it already handles terrain, so if that was meant it would be double

"Massive figures can enter spaces containing blocking terrain and impassable terrain ." p16, Rules Reference Guide

Blocked or impassable Edges in not mentioned in the "learn to play" section that talks about terrain. the word edge is only mentioned when describing "Walls":

"Indicated by a black line that most often appear on the edge of tiles." p8, Learn to Play

So can a massive figure walk over the black walls/edges? as long as that doesnt lead them to "interior spaces".

It is written that way to prevent rules lawyers from claiming that Massive figures can't move over a single red solid or dotted line since neither space would actually be containing blocked or impassable terrain, only their edge.

They still cannot end their movement on walls.

That messes up at least one mission:

So the Mission Generous Donation is completely messed up? The AT-ST wont be able to even leave the first it is deployed to tile due to this, as a Wall would block him.

Edited by CaineHoA

That messes up at least one mission:

So the Mission Generous Donation is completely messed up? The AT-ST wont be able to even leave the first it is deployed to tile due to this, as a Wall would block him.

Except that facing doesn't matter for movement.

Therefore it can "side-step" through the 2 wide gap.

Hmm pretty unintuitive ruling. So they can also shoot in any direction cant they?

Hmm pretty unintuitive ruling. So they can also shoot in any direction cant they?

Yes. There is no facing in this game.

Yes, I shouldn't have been so specific. Facing doesn't matter at all.

hmm still i ahve the feeling that the unit is pure decoration in that mission. It need 3 full turns to reach a position to shoot at all.

Thanks for your answers.

Edited by CaineHoA

hmm still i ahve the feeling that the unit is pure decoration in that mission. It need 3 full turns to reach a position to shoot at all.

Thanks for your answers.

That is what officers are for.

hmm still i ahve the feeling that the unit is pure decoration in that mission. It need 3 full turns to reach a position to shoot at all.

Thanks for your answers.

It actually only needs three actions, so it'll be able to attack from a near optimal position the turn after it's deployed.

You are correct i counted more turns than necessary with the intended rules, it is "only" 3 actions.

You are correct i counted more turns than necessary with the intended rules, it is "only" 3 actions.

Which is a single turn if you have an Officer available to help him, or if you have 2 Officers available the thing can get into position and start firing on the same turn.