'exceptions' to weaken

By Norgrath, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

So we just learned that conditions are considered mission rules for the purpose of conflicts. Assuming that you can't have negative surges or evades this means that any effect that adds a surge or evade will get around it. Am I right in thinking this, is my assumption wrong or am I missing something else?

Where does it say that Weaken is considered a mission rule?

I'm pretty sure it's not intended to work that way, but who knows it seems to be worth a rules e-mail to FFG if there isn't a ruling somewhere already.

EDIT: I just saw the e-mail ruling on conditions being mission rules. It does seem then that surge adding affects will work around Weaken.

Edited by MikeNYHC

Where does it say you can't have a negative surges or evades?

The entire point of "Weakened" is applying a negative evade while defending and a negative surge while attacking.

weakened.png

Edited by Fizz

Where does it say you can't have a negative surges or evades?

I never even noticed that. That's a good point and maintains the strength of Weakened as an awesome condition to inflict on the right figures.

So you can exhaust a card (in Campaign) to add a surge but Weakened will still subtract from the final result.

Edited by MikeNYHC