Rebel Recon vs Troop Data

By Lifey, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I have a rules question regarding interaction between two cards in the core set campaign:

Rebel Recon (reward card):

"When a hero draws a Supply card, he draws 1 additional Supply card. He chooses 1 to keep and places the other on the bottom of the Supply deck."

Troop Data (supply card):

"When this card is drawn, reveal all Deployment cards in the Imperial player's hand and reserve. Then, return those cards to his hand and reserve and discard this card."

Now, a hero interacts with a crate to draw 2 Supply cards due to Rebel Recon, suppose one is Troop Data and the other is Shock Grenade. Which of these is the correct way to resolve this?

  1. He resolves Troop Data on the spot, because he has "drawn" it, then discards Troop Data and decides to "keep" Shock Grenade, ostensibly getting use of both supply cards.
  2. He is not allowed to resolve Troop Data unless it is the card he chooses to "keep". Thus he may either resolve & discard Troop Data (putting Shock Grenade on bottom of supply deck), or keep Shock Grenade and put Troop Data on the bottom of the deck unresolved.

I, as the gracious Imperial player of my campaign, decided to be nice to my Rebel adversaries and let them have ruling #1 in the face of this ambiguity. However, I am inclined to think that there should probably be errata to rule in favor of #2.

See the wording behind Mak's class ability, Supply Network:

"Exhaust this card during your activation to test eye. If you pass, reveal the top card of the Supply deck and place it on the top or bottom of the deck."

By using the keyword "reveal" instead of "draw", we have ruled that Supply Network does not trigger Troop Data. The confusion arises with Rebel Recon's usage of "draw".

Edited by Lifey

I would go with #2. Under normal circumstances, interacting with a crate would only allow a single draw, and Troop Data is worded as such to prevent the rebel player from holding onto it and using it at a later time.

Rebel Recon adds an additional step that must be resolved prior to the resolution of either supply card.

I got an official response from FFG, so I figure I'd follow up:

"Your option 2 is correct. He must essentially choose which of the two cards he has “drawn” and then, if it’s Troop Data, he resolves its “when drawn” effect immediately afterward."

While this is still hot, can someone explain how "Rebel Recon" and Jyn Odan's "Smuggler's Luck" work together?

While this is still hot, can someone explain how "Rebel Recon" and Jyn Odan's "Smuggler's Luck" work together?

You would fully resolve Rebel Recon's "Draw Two, Keep One", and then once you have the "kept" card, you would then exhaust Smuggler's Luck to trigger the "Discard and draw a new card".

The timing here is the same, Rebel Recon adds an additional step that must be resolved first to determine what the "drawn" card is.

Edited by Fizz

I should also add that after exhausting Smuggler's Luck, the new draw would then trigger Rebel Recon again...