Monsters in Sky

By Bahoola, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

When you have a flyer in Sky and you move out to a street you have to make a evade check. But it also says that monsters in sky are connected to every street in Arkham, so do you need to make an evade check for every street location you step on during your move?

When you have a flyer in Sky and you move out to a street you have to make a evade check.

No, sorry. When the flyer is in the Sky, you may move through all the street areas you want without making any Evade check. You need to make Evade checks only against monsters sharing your very same area, not the areas adjacent to yours

Hope this has sense

Not at all I’m afraid. Hers how I see it,

1) We are talking about different situations

2) I’m just stupid.

And I’m kind of rooting for number 1 ;) So let me elaborate a bit. I’m standing in a location in my movement phase, as I leave the location and enter the streets I enter an area with a monster in it, since sky is connected to all street areas. The monster in the little sky box counts as standing on all street areas at ones? If not so what’s the point of being connected to them? Back to track, so a big bad thing is swooping down on me and I feel that swooping is bad so I attempt an evade check.

Let’s say I avoid the swooping, and my movement continues. The next step takes me to a new street, the monster in sky counts as connected to this street as well.

  1. Do I make a new evade check since their standing as monster here as well?
  2. Or do I skip it since I already evaded the monster earlier?
  3. All of this is irrelevant since I’m completely wrong ;P

Reading throw the rulebook on the matter in hand I’ve come up with as another question as well. If you fail a evade check you move to combat. And in the example on page 14 “she’ll have to decide whether to fight the Dhole or try to flee it again. Even if Amanda defeats the Dhole somehow, her movement is over”.

Amanda’s movement ends after combat with the monster she tried to evade. Is this true after all combats? Or just the ones you get in by a failed evade test? I can’t find any reference to it in the combat rules so I guess it’s just after failed evade.

Edited by Bahoola
I’m standing in a location in my movement phase, as I leave the location and enter the streets I enter an area with a monster in it, since sky is connected to all street areas. The monster in the little sky box counts as standing on all street areas at ones?

That's the point you have wrong. The monster in the Sky is in the Sky; the monster in a street area is in a street area. So, it doesn't matter how many monster are in the Sky since you're not moving through the Sky.

Monsters in the Sky move to Street Areas during the Mythos phase IF

a) their movement symbol is shown on the Mythos card AND

b) there's at least one investigator in any street area (if there are more than 1 investigator, then, the monster moves on the investigator with the lowest Sneak; if two or more investigators are tied for the lowest Sneak, then it's First Player's decision as always)

The fact that the Sky is adjacent to any street area means that monsters can move from the Sky to any street in Arkham so that no one is actually safe; but there are other conditions that need to be satisfied for the movement to be triggered.

As long as you have Flyers in the Sky at the end of the Mythos Phase, then these are no harm for investigators in the following Movement

Better?

As for your other question: Combat ends Movement. You can't fight & move afterwards. AH core rules, pag 8, leftmost column, third paragraph:

Once an investigator begins combat with a monster for
any reason, his movement is over. Regardless of whether
or not he wins the battle, the investigator loses the rest
of his movement points and must remain where he is.

So let me elaborate a bit. I’m standing in a location in my movement phase, as I leave the location and enter the streets I enter an area with a monster in it, since sky is connected to all street areas.

When they say "the Sky is connected to all Street areas" they mean for the purposes of Monster Movement.

Monsters can only move from one location to another if those two locations are connected by a line, and then only if the arrow (black or white) matches the colour that the monster's dimension symbol appears in on the Mythos card. This rule is saying that you can imagine there's a line connecting every Street location to the Sky, with both black and white arrows going in both directions. Without this rule, a particularly anal rules lawyer could argue that monsters in the Sky become trapped, as there are no printed lines leading out of that box.

So, when drawing a Mythos card and resolving Monster Movement, a flying monster currently in the Sky has the capacity to move to ANY Street area. However, while the monster is in the Sky, it is not currently in any Street areas and does not need to be evaded or fought by anyone. (In fact, it cannot be fought, barring cards that say otherwise.) It simply has the option of moving to any Street area the next time it moves.

Edited by Steve-O

Yeah I get ya. And the miss with combat made me go back and red throw the rulebook ones more, kind a big mistake. And to be honest, I have only read throw it all ones before and just freshen the memory when rule questions has emerged.