If the ships in question belongs to the opponent, initiative shouldnt be a factor. The,mine layer chooses the mine and the ship when more than one are hit. That makes more sense to me.
Yeah agree Initiative wasn't a factor because the OP question seemed to be refering to ships from the same squad.
Edited by BigBounty
See from my point I'm ok with this result, in "actual" application if 2 ships were following another & it dropped Clusters out the back, there would be nothing stopping 'Kyle' hitting 1st mine being destroyed & then hitting the 2nd also if it was floating into his path, meaning 'Poe' escapes unscathed.
IMO you make the call first & take the chance which direction the mine is headed, the token is the blast radius not the size of the mine, if mine A happens to destroy 'Kyle', mine B can't suddenly change course because you saw him blow up, you are just dropping stuff out of the back of your ship they aren't Remote Control (To be honest if FFG didn't specify 1 ship, I'd be ok with all ships on the token taking a roll)
yes maybe its fluffy & probably I'm wrong, but there are plenty of moments of chance in this game (we roll dice) so I have no problem with one more on something like this
The problem with that is you open yourself up for an argument if you declare which ship is going to take the damage roll and then not resolve that token at that time. If you declare Kyle instead of Poe for the second mine, then roll for the Kyle on the first mine, you've broken the rules because you didn't finish resolving the declared mine, before rolling for the other. The rule is pre Clusters when bombs/mines were singular, so it is somewhat an oddity because they're multiples, all the point under bombs says is pick which ship if there are multiples on it, IMO this happens at the placement stage, not the resolution stage.
It's why you have to resolve each mine on it's own, one at a time . Agree they are resolved 1 at a time in the order of the player rolling choosing.
If I had Kyle and Poe in the positions described in the original post, and my opponent said " both of those on Kyle ", then he's incorrectly declaring the ship out of sequence. It's not his call to make until I declare that particular token is going to be resolved, and he also can't declare that for the token that only has Kyle on it. That one's obviously going to have only one ship to roll for. Agree he has no say on the singular ship token,
If Kyle got destroyed before moving to the two-ship token, then that would only leave Poe on that token and therefore he must roll for damage. It doesn't matter if the mine dropper prematurely declared Kyle's ship over Poe's and the other token was resolved first. It only matters when a token is chosen to be resolved and still has two ships on it. That's the only time the mine dropper gets a say in which ship suffers. If the two-ship token was chosen first and Kyle got destroyed, then the other token should also detonate because it was overlapped, but it would do no damage. See this is were I'm coming from, the fact that Mine A can do nothing because Kyle blew up on B 1st (if thats what the rolling player wanted to resolve first) should apply both ways IMO even if Poe is a valid "target" in the reverse situation. Its the chance you take.
Because both ship were mine in that example, initiative doesn't come into play here and the order of token resolution rests with me alone. He still gets to choose which ship on the two-ship token, but only after I've chosen to resolve that token. Initiative would only be a factor when both players have ships on the mine tokens. Agree on the initiative part 100%
I fully understand were you are coming from & don't disagree that you may be 100% correct & if your ruling was made by a TO I'd happily except that with no arguement, I'm just offering up an alternate view for debate.
In a game where attack already has so much more advantage, I just don't think they should get to wait & see before choosing on something that should be so random as dropping stuff uncontrollably out the back of their ship.