Can I use this item in a location with a monster, without evading it first?
Migo Brain Case Q
Movement: While in Arkham, exhaust and spend all of your movement points for the turn to swap places with another investigator or monster in Arkham.
So you are asking if you move to monster A, can you switch with monster B before needing to evade monster A? Its a little unclear whether "all" refers to your entire MP (in which case no moving is allowed at all) or just whatever fraction of it you have left. In these cases, I play order of execution is up to you, so yes, but you must (in my view) actually have MP left for this to work.
dj2.0 said:
Movement: While in Arkham, exhaust and spend all of your movement points for the turn to swap places with another investigator or monster in Arkham.
So you are asking if you move to monster A, can you switch with monster B before needing to evade monster A? Its a little unclear whether "all" refers to your entire MP (in which case no moving is allowed at all) or just whatever fraction of it you have left. In these cases, I play order of execution is up to you, so yes, but you must (in my view) actually have MP left for this to work.
I don't think it's unclear at all. It says you have to "exhaust and spend all of your movement points for the turn." Key word, "all," key phrase, "for the turn." I don't think there's much ambiguity here.
As far as we know, within phases, you get to order things however you like. But there's not ever been an official ruling on this ::shrug:: ;')
Well, i think its still a little unclear, hinging on whether all your remaining points this turn are inclusive. If its the way you say, it means the case can only be used when you already sit with a monster, that you cant use any tomes, and that the flames of Cthugha burn you when you use it...
I think the original question was actually whether you can use the Brain Case to move if you're starting out in an area with a monster. Do you need to evade the monster then before using the Brain Case to move away?
dj2.0 said:
Well, i think its still a little unclear, hinging on whether all your remaining points this turn are inclusive. If its the way you say, it means the case can only be used when you already sit with a monster, that you cant use any tomes, and that the flames of Cthugha burn you when you use it...
So I think since it says "all your movement points" and doesn't say "all your remaining movement points" means just that. You must spend all your movement points period. I don't see why when you use all your points you have to be sitting with a monster. You should be able to use all your movement points from a location or street with or without a monster. But yes, that means no tomes and I suppose the flames do burn you. Maybe this needs to be asked in the FAQ thread.
I honestly don't know if you have to evade. I'm leaning toward no, since you're not really doing traditional movement, but some weird swapping thing, but I could go either way on it I guess.
johnwatersfan said:
dj2.0 said:
Well, i think its still a little unclear, hinging on whether all your remaining points this turn are inclusive. If its the way you say, it means the case can only be used when you already sit with a monster, that you cant use any tomes, and that the flames of Cthugha burn you when you use it...
So I think since it says "all your movement points" and doesn't say "all your remaining movement points" means just that. You must spend all your movement points period. I don't see why when you use all your points you have to be sitting with a monster. You should be able to use all your movement points from a location or street with or without a monster. But yes, that means no tomes and I suppose the flames do burn you. Maybe this needs to be asked in the FAQ thread.
I honestly don't know if you have to evade. I'm leaning toward no, since you're not really doing traditional movement, but some weird swapping thing, but I could go either way on it I guess.
It's not normal movement, there shouldn't be an evade. I guess the question would be, do you need to make evade checks with Brain Case and Patrol Wagon when leaving spaces, as well as entering them. Maybe. But I doubt it. I'll include in the FAQ list.
That was an interesting point about Cthugha. It's possible either way (after all, he does make an exception for tomes). I'll ask.