Additional questions

By Gabb, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Some additional questions came up in my game that I'm not quite sure the answer to

1. If 2 Toxic Venomthrope ( After you win a command struggle at this planet, infest it. If it was already infested, either gain 1[Resource] or draw 1 card instead of infesting it. ) are following a warlord to a uninfested planet. I'm assuming their reactions occur at the same time but does this mean it allows the player to infest the planet and gain 1 resource or a card or does it just simply infest the planet?

2. Adamant Hive Guard questions have been covered before but I want to make sure. If theres an adament Hive Guard at a planet with 5 termagant tokens and the opponent plays Cacophonic Choir in the deploy phase, the player has 10 units total, is the player allowed to put the 5 indirect damage on the adament Hive Guard and 1 indirect damage on each termagant token ( for a total of 10 indirect damage ) and then use the Hive Guards reaction ability to absorb the damage on the termagants so it survives and the termagants survive?

I had another question but just forgot it, will post a reply to this thread if I remember it.

1. Reactions, even reactions to the same triggering condition, never occur at the same time. You trigger one, then the other (with your opponent t having the opportunity to use a reaction to the same triggering condition in-between, of course). In this case, you can't actually trigger the second reaction because it doesn't do anything (i.e., change the game state). You can't infest a planet twice, and the planet was not "already infested" when the triggering condition was created (i.e., you did not win a command struggle at an infested planet), you that part of the ability doesn't apply.

End result, you just infest the planet. No bonus resources or cards.

2. Once indirect damage is assigned, it is treated the same as any other damage, so yes, you can trigger the Hive Guard's ability 5 times - one for each termagant - and absorb the 5 damage. But now the Hive Guard has 10 total damage assigned to it, so unless you have a way to shield at least 6 damage, I'm not sure how it's going to survive. (Remember, by the time you are using the ability, the "indirect damage assigned only to the unit's remaining hit points" restriction is gone. That reassigned damage needs to be prevented or dealt).

1. Reactions, even reactions to the same triggering condition, never occur at the same time. You trigger one, then the other (with your opponent t having the opportunity to use a reaction to the same triggering condition in-between, of course). In this case, you can't actually trigger the second reaction because it doesn't do anything (i.e., change the game state). You can't infest a planet twice, and the planet was not "already infested" when the triggering condition was created (i.e., you did not win a command struggle at an infested planet), you that part of the ability doesn't apply.

End result, you just infest the planet. No bonus resources or cards.

2. Once indirect damage is assigned, it is treated the same as any other damage, so yes, you can trigger the Hive Guard's ability 5 times - one for each termagant - and absorb the 5 damage. But now the Hive Guard has 10 total damage assigned to it, so unless you have a way to shield at least 6 damage, I'm not sure how it's going to survive. (Remember, by the time you are using the ability, the "indirect damage assigned only to the unit's remaining hit points" restriction is gone. That reassigned damage needs to be prevented or dealt).

Thanks as always for the clarification kotm

I just remembered my other question, with the Old One Eye Warlord, his reaction reads he can heal half damage ( rounded up ) when the warlord readies. Say he goes to an empty planet and captures it and is never actually exhausted, in the hq phase when you have to ready all units, does this count as him being readied since he was never exhausted? Or do you have to have him exhausted and then readied which essentially means he can only heal when: combat rounds are over and he readies or he is exhausted already from an attack or effect and the hq phase readies him or some effect readies him when he is exhausted

You can't exhaust a unit that's already exhausted to trigger an effect; I'm pretty sure that likewise you can't ready a unit that's already ready to trigger an effect.

In game terms - trying to ready a card that is currently ready produces no change in game state, which is just a fancy way of saying that nothing happens. Since nothing happened when you attempted to ready Old One Eye, you did not create the "game moment" which defines a triggering condition (RRG, p.15).

So yeah, Old One Eye's ability only works if he actually changes status from "exhausted" to "ready."