If you use Force Enhance to boost your Brawn, does it affect your Soak at the same time?
Or does that only work for permanent increases?
The same for Stimpack Application used to increase Brawn?
If you use Force Enhance to boost your Brawn, does it affect your Soak at the same time?
Or does that only work for permanent increases?
The same for Stimpack Application used to increase Brawn?
p31, increases to Brawn do increase Soak value.
Yeah, I didnt know if that applied in this instance, as it was a temporary increase.
Cheers
Yes to both. Any Brawn increase (or decrease, I'd say) affects your Soak.
OK, Follow up question.
Am I right in how this works:
A Player has Force Enhance, and the Control Upgrades down the middle, so he can boost his Brawn by 1 point.
He uses this while he is in Melee primarily..
When he makes his FIRST melee attack, he rolls the Force Die too.
If its a White pip, he can activate the base ability, but this has no effect at this point.
The Following turn, he commits his Force die to activate the Control aspect, to boost his Brawn, making him hit harder.
And he does so every turn thereafter to effectivly have a Brawn of 5 and +1 soak as a result.
Is that right?
Edited for clarity:
No, he has to spend an action to Commit the die, he can't make a melee attack at the same time. And he does not need to roll a Force die to Commit.
From that point on, his Brawn is 5 and he gets +1 Soak.
Note that if he is using the Brawl skill, he can roll the Force die instead of Committing. This allows him to use the pip as either Success or Advantage, though he'll have to spend Strain and a DP if it's a dark pip.
Edited by whafrogHe can commit the die any time with an action for essentially as long as he wants. No roll is required to commit the die
Edited by RichardbuxtonWhere in the book does it say committing a die is an action?
Also where does it say he has to spend a DP to use a Dark Side Pip? I thought that was just strain?
Edited by RebelDavep. 282 F&D.
It's not a big deal though as it only applies to structured game play, so if you're walking into the cantina and you know it isn't going to go well, you can just say you are committing the die outside of structured game play, ie before the feces hits the electric atmospheric oscillation device...
Edited by 2P51I also cannot find where it says a force power is Active or not, and thus where it would require an action for individual powers.
And im still not clear on HOW this would work....
Does the PC still have to Activate the base ability BEFORE he can commit a dice?
Or can he commit a dice from the very start to boost his Brawn?
The Control abilities are usually different from the basic power. They represent new ways to use the power in question. So for example, the "Commit a Force die" is a new way to use the power. You don't roll a die; you just commit the die and now you can't use it as a Force die (like to activate other Force powers) until you perform an incidental to drop the effect.
It's all in the Force chapter.
I also cannot find where it says a force power is Active or not, and thus where it would require an action for individual powers.
And im still not clear on HOW this would work....
Does the PC still have to Activate the base ability BEFORE he can commit a dice?
Or can he commit a dice from the very start to boost his Brawn?
Activating a Force power, unless otherwise specified, requires an action. There is no "active" Force power; they all cost an action to perform by default.
I also cannot find where it says a force power is Active or not, and thus where it would require an action for individual powers.
And im still not clear on HOW this would work....
Does the PC still have to Activate the base ability BEFORE he can commit a dice?
Or can he commit a dice from the very start to boost his Brawn?
It's on p. 282 in F&D, 2nd column, under Force Powers, look for the bold print ".., using the power requires one action in structured time ." If you read back from that phrase it says whether it's a roll or committing a Force die you use an action in structured time.
Ooookay.... Thank you so much guys.
really struggling with some of the rules currently, I think my brain is getting worse.
But thanks for your patience and assistance!
Beers for all!
No biggy, and remember, it's only an action in the middle of structured play, as the shooting starts in other words. If a PC wants to just say they are committing a die before it gets to that point they can, and then it's already 'switched on' for the bar fight.
It's not a big deal though as it only applies to structured game play, so if you're walking into the cantina and you know it isn't going to go well, you can just say you are committing the die outside of structured game play, ie before the feces hits the electric atmospheric oscillation device...
I'd be okay with your example, but normally I'd discourage that kind of thing outside of structured play, if only to avoid a player saying "it's always on unless I take it off"...if they wanted to do that I'd at least charge some Strain or some Discipline rolls, or maybe even some Conflict*, to keep it going. That said, I wouldn't have a problem if they feel like "this bar is pretty rough", or "negotiations aren't going well", or "I smell an ambush". Basically, they need a reason.
* having it always on suggests a permanent state of fear, and fear leads...
It's not a big deal though as it only applies to structured game play, so if you're walking into the cantina and you know it isn't going to go well, you can just say you are committing the die outside of structured game play, ie before the feces hits the electric atmospheric oscillation device...
I'd be okay with your example, but normally I'd discourage that kind of thing outside of structured play, if only to avoid a player saying "it's always on unless I take it off"...if they wanted to do that I'd at least charge some Strain or some Discipline rolls, or maybe even some Conflict*, to keep it going. That said, I wouldn't have a problem if they feel like "this bar is pretty rough", or "negotiations aren't going well", or "I smell an ambush". Basically, they need a reason.
* having it always on suggests a permanent state of fear, and fear leads...
Agreed. No obvious reason and you're just being paranoid so Conflict is reasonable.
There is a side bar rule option for leaving an ongoing effect on in the CRB.
To me I really wouldn't care. It's one point. It can't stack. There's a xp investment. It removes a FR from use while in place. There are other far more useful Force powers. Being prepared is a Jedi attitude I think. If it's paranoia, so is carrying a lightsaber or wearing armor. I don't think it's a big deal in Brawn's case. I'd probably rein in Sense though. To each their own.
Edited by 2P51