Clarifications needed

By fatolaf, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Hi there

Only played my 2nd game of Invasion tonight?

Question: If my zone is burning, can I continue to build stuff there, claim resources etc? Looks that way, just want to check

Question: Are actions cumlative? Ie, if it says (Action, spend 2 resources to gain a hammer), can I spend 4 to gain 2 hammers?

Think that's all for now, will prob come up with more, the more intro games I do cool.gif

1. Yes a zone burning has no effect except on cards that specifically mention it. (Like Duragar the Bold.) As an aside the tutorial video explicitly shows a player drawing and gaining resources with burnt zones.

2. Yes, everything in W:I is cumlative unless it explicitly says otherwise or it uses syntax that doesn't stack (Like something that blocks the first damage caused. If you had two of them you would just block the first twice, not the first and the second.)

Thanks thought so..

Another question: The quests that kick in after 3 resources are there, do you keep having to put resources on them after they have reached 3?

Seems to me there is no point and you could eventually run out of tokens, especially if both players have a quest in play..

If not can you get rid of the quest in any way?

Yes, the placing of resources on quests is Forced, once there is a unit on the quest. Some quest effects are controlled by the number of resource on the card (see the neutral "Infiltrate" quest). If you want to "stop" questing, just allow the questing unit to be eliminated in some fashion, and simply do not replace it with another unit.

TK

IIRC, the others that don't continue to power up require you to sacrifice the unit or in some other fashion cause you to spend/discard the resources to use the ability. That said there are an aweful lot of resource tokens and if you guys are pulling so many resources during the Kingdom phase and so many Quests with resources in play that you run out of tokens you are either master players in a stalemate or missing out on some tactical opportunities to screw your opponent.

Fair enough, guess what another question?

Bright Wizard Apprenctice has

'Quest. Action: .........'

Does this mean this action can only be played when this unit is on a quest or in the quest zone, or both?

Does this card have to be played in the quest zone?

It means the ability is only available in the Quest Zone.

Cards that must be played into a specific Zone will say X Only, naming the zone.

Thanks Dormouse, that's all I have for now...

I'm sure there will be more in the future... gran_risa.gif

The ability of the unit (Action) can be triggered in any opening window described in page 14:

"Actions may be taken by either player".

On page 15:

"Players can take actions during any of the shaded player actions boxes in the detailed turn sequence chart on page 14."

This is clear enough that you can trigger the Action of the unit whenever possible instead of only in you Quest phase. I think that you were seeking answer to this.

We were talking about where the card had to be played in order to use the ability (hence the use of the word zone over the use of phase in reference to Quest), not when.

You are right, as long as the wording of the effect does not specifically give a timing restriction a card effect can be used at any player action window. In this case though the card with the ability must be in the Quest zone in order for the ability to be available.

Back to quests, if a quest has resources on it and the questing unit on the quest dies, do the resources stay or go back in the pile?

From the rules, PAG 11:

"If the questing unit leaves play for
any reason, the quest card remains in play but all
resource tokens accumulated on that quest card are
discarded, and returned to the pool in the centre of the table."

Question: Are actions cumlative? Ie, if it says (Action, spend 2 resources to gain a hammer), can I spend 4 to gain 2 hammers?

I'm not sure I agree with the advice given. If you could spend 4 resources to gain 2 hammers then wouldn't the card say "gain a hammer for every 2 resources you spend"

It doesn't say you can spend 4, it says spend 2.

Just to clear things up: you "can't" spend 4 and gain 2 powers because the action says "Action: pay 2 to gain...".

Paying 2 to get the bonus is a SINGLE trigger/action. Is not the same thing, in game timing terms. It's pretty important, because, actually, after you pay 2 and get the bonus, your oppo can respond (so your action would "wait" in the effect chain) or play a normal action....After that, you can pay 2 again, and so on.

So, the "Gain a power for every 2 resource you pay" effect, is a completely different thing. gui%C3%B1o.gif

Well said DB. Each trigger of that card is a separate action, which is why it is phrased that way. Your phrasing would make it a single action for the boost regardless of how many resources were spent.