WEATHERING With Pencils.......Dirt, Streaks, grime, Rust, Blaster Burns......UPDATED

By Barry Harker, in X-Wing Painting and Modification

THE PENCIL WEATHERING PAGE HAS NOW BEEN UPDATED WITH A NEW IMAGE HOSTING SERVICE :D

Sorry it took so long, Hope you find it useful.

All the best,

Barry.

.........................................................................................................................................................................................

Hello Guys.

I have been Modeling for many years.

I Have used Many different and unusual ways too achieve certain methods with small scale models like these X Wing Miniatures.

As we all know.

STAR WARS is a "Lived in Universe"

everything looks worn and dirty. and one of the best examples is obviously the Falcon.

But these Models are small, so achieving those grimy and dirty streaks on the panels of the Falcon could take forever

with a fine brush, but still look to......neat.

I have been using Coloured Pencils on model's for years to achieve certain desired effects.

You don't Even have to Repaint your Models.....just add the grime !

So,

I thought some of you might be interested in this technique.

for those of you that don't all ready know :D

sDhdH3.jpg

I have used this weathering technique on many models from Armour to Aircraft to Naval vessels.

there are many good brands out there of Artists Coloured Pencils.............

tUwgND.jpg

You will have to keep a regular sharp point on your pencil to achieve the fine grimy streaks on such a small model.

mM3VPd.jpg

but it can be effective.

qUmKxB.jpg

I spent an afternoon weathering my Falcon model this way........

Edited by Barry Harker

You can get carried away and enjoy your time using lots of refrence books and Material to try and get it as close as possible

to the studio photos.......

4t7cY7.jpg

negUno.jpg

MKIK5M.jpg

i6Y3lf.jpg

Edited by Barry Harker

This never occurred to me but it seem's kinda obvious now.