Action Question - Bacta Infusion

By Ultraman, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi Team,

I have a question about using a loot item such as Bacta Infusion:

"Discard this card during your activation to choose yourself or an adjacent friendly figure. The chosen figure recovers 3 dmg and may discard 1 or more Harmful conditions

This doesn't have an action symbol next to it nor says it is an action, so is this in addition to the 2 actions a character gets during an activation?

Eg. Rest, use this card, then attack?

The same question would go for Emergency Medpack and C1 Comlink.

Thanks for your help/advice!

If they dont have the arrow (special acton) in front of them, they don't cost an action.

Awesome, I thought so, I just thought it seemed too good to be true for some of them :)

Not costing an action is not a big deal for a one-shot, situational item.

Just remember that even if you've used it, it still counts for credits at the end of the mission!

i have a question about this emergencymedpac

If i for example rest, stress 1, interact with a crate and get the medpac.

can i use it?

or does it have to be used imminently after resting

The Emergency Medpak needs to be used immediately after resting. Its trigger condition is "after you rest". If you perform any other ability (that doesn't have the same trigger condition), you decline to use the Emergency Medpak because it isn't the "after you rest" trigger anymore.

Edited by a1bert

thank you for that.

and we figured it was something like Gideons command an ally within 3 spaces, since it doesnt mention line of sight you could go around a corner and command as long as its 3 space

with this one i was thinking since it doesnt state to use IMMEDIATELY after resting then it could be used at anytime, or at the very least used during that players turn.

that sorta still makes sense to me lol

Pretty much universally every "after" and "before" in Imperial Assault comes with an implied immediately .

(The other general triggers for abilities are "when" and "during". Sometimes "during" has a pretty fixed timing as well, specifically during attacks.)

Edited by a1bert

thank you so much again :) looks like my guys did make the right call on it! (sadly i was in the wrong)

<3

If an hero has Emergency Medpack and uses a rest action, does he HAVE to use medpack in that moment, or can he save it for another rest action? In other, can an hero choose when using it?

Abilities with costs are optional, and discarding a card is a cost. So you only discard the Emergency Medpac if you choose to.

Abilities with costs are optional, and discarding a card is a cost. So you only discard the Emergency Medpac if you choose to.

Thank you for the answer! :)

(I hope it is ok that I ask this here instead of starting a new topic)

When you rest, or otherwise recover Strain, and you recover more Strain than you currently have, you recover Damage instead. However, does this also work the other way around? Could a Damage free hero use the Bacta Infusion to recover Strain? This came up in our latest campaign when winning or losing for the Rebs came down to whether Mak could recover Strain to spend Strain on something (can't for the life of me remember what it was he needed to do, however). Being the Imp player, I ruled that he could reverse the surpluss-Strain-recovery-to-recover-Damage thing on the grounds that, a) nothing that I could fine explisitly forbade this, and b) the Bacta Infusion even removes any harmful condition, so why wouldn't it, logically, also contain a pick-me-up effect that would allow the recover of Strain? That said, I'm not at all convinced I made the right ruling, although the Rebs had been trashed by my Imps for several missions in a row and I think the campaign benefited from my lenience there.

Edited by angelman2

No, recovering damage does not allow to recover strain. If a hero has suffered less damage than the recover amount, the excess recover is lost.

Edited by a1bert
2 hours ago, a1bert said:

No, recovering damage does not allow to recover strain. If a hero has suffered less damage than the recover amount, the excess recover is lost.

Cool. Is this from the rulebook somewhere?

15 minutes ago, angelman2 said:

Cool. Is this from the rulebook somewhere?

See Recover . When recovering damage or strain, discard the specified number of the respective token from the hero sheet.

When recovering strain, only heroes recover damage for each strain they could not recover.

It's harder to show a rule that does not exist.

Thanks.

So, going a step further, is there any reason why the Bacta Infusion (or similar) shouldn't let excess Damage recovery recover Strain? (I mean, from a philosophical-mechanical point of view. I accept that it isn't legal as stated in the rules)

Damage can be thought as a probability that a hit/shot causes you to become wounded. While straining yourself you can do more, but you will eventually reach your endurance and have to take a breath to recover so you can rush again. If you have strained yourself too much, even your well-learned tricks no longer work due to losing hand-eye coordination and/or concentration. It has nothing to do with your armor becoming thinner from the shots taken, or losing your helmet, or batteries of your gear losing their charge, or a gash on your back or cheek.

When you patch our arm with Bacta Infusion, you're as fatigued from straining yourself as before. Maybe even more, because the Bacta needs to get energy from somewhere to patch your up. You stop bleeding, and your arm can take another hit from a stun baton, but you're just as tired as before.

See? This is why I post questions here; you guys have bigger brains than me :)
Thanks.