Ragnars Damage With Raganar's Warcamp

By darvil, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Hi guys,

Need your help with the clarification of this rule regarding the warcamp:

We all know that warcamp doubles the damage of space wolves (including Raganar). My questions is: Does the doubling of damage happen before or after the addition of other attack pumping cards such as Catachan outpost, Ion rifle, Frostfang etc.... ?

RRG, p. 6:

" Doubling and Halving Modifiers

Some effects may ask players to modify values.

- Resolve all additive and/or subtractive modifiers before applying any doubling and/or halving modifiers .

- Unless otherwise specified, fractional values are always rounded up after all modifiers have been applied."

Thanks for your answer ktom.

Just wanted to make absolutely sure because my store manager had told me otherwise and I have been playing with what felt like a gimped Ragnar especially against shielding decks. The reason I listened to the manager's word on the matter was because he was a prolific player (he was top 4 in Gencon 2015). He told me that the effect of the support acts first before the adding of damage from other cards. Also, there have been cases where the rule book has had mistakes.

So if anyone else can shed more light on the matter and help nail this coffin shut, it would be greatly appreciated. I really do not want to switch to a Cato deck haha.

The rule book very clearly says that the support's doubling effect would act last. All other doubling and halving effects are applied last - Heavy Marker Drone, for example. (Check out absolutely every rule thread dealing with doubling effects on this rule board and the one on cardgamedb.com; this rule is always applied.)

So I'm not sure why there would be any reason to think the rule book is a mistake in this case. In fact, I'm hard pressed to think of any situations in which the rule book for this game is "wrong." Unclear, certainly, but not wrong to the extent where the correct way to play is the exact opposite of what it is written in the rules.