E Web Engineer Ability

By JJMicromegas, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi, just a quick clarification about the E Web Engineer's ability, the card states that the Engineer can 'attack multiple targets with each activation'.

Does this mean that it can attack more than once when it is activated or that it can attack all units within line of site when it gets it's single attack activation?

Thanks in advance for the clarification.

It can use both of its actions to attack.

It doesn't have an ability to fire on all available targets.

I think this is a good question and an issue I hadn't noticed before considering it is a machine gun. Every unit can attack with both activations right?. So why the unique wording here?

Official clarification would be great!

No. In the campaign, only Heroes can choose to attack more than once per activation. "Assault" means that the figure is not bound by the "single attack rule", and may perform multiple actions that involve attacks during its activation as opposed to being limited to a single action that involves an attack.

In the campaign, this means the E-Web, can (if it does not move), take two separate attack actions, whereas all other imperial figures may only take one.

Ref:

"Actions", RRG, Page 3:

A figure can perform the same action multiple times during the same activation except as follows:

-- A non-hero figure can use only one of its actions to perform an attack per activation.

-- A figure can perform each special action only once per activation.

Edited by Fizz

Important to note that in Skirmish battles, there are no heroes, and all figures are bound to this restriction.

Brilliant - I'm new to playing IA so thanks for the clarification!

Sure thing! Welcome to the fun!

In addition, to clarify you cannot attack the same figure?

The E-Web simply has the Assault wording: " Assault : You can perform multiple attacks each activation."

The number of attacks is still restricted by the number of actions a figure has, namely 2. There does not appear to be any wording restricting targets.

Fire at will.

In addition, to clarify you cannot attack the same figure?

You *CAN* (and should!) target the same figure with multiple attacks.

Interesting... for some reason I thought i read you cannot target the same figure. Anyways since you guys are experts in rules I have another quick question (Off-topic but doesnt need a new thread) about skirmish which way underrated in my opinion. A lot of scenarios rules are vague on the cards such as you can pick a shield or pick up an experimental weapon etc. Explicitly it is not stated you use an action... but do you?

Typically the mission rules Should state it, but if not, I usually default to page 19 of the RRG under Interact.

Generally, if you are interacting with something, it's an action.

Interesting... for some reason I thought i read you cannot target the same figure. Anyways since you guys are experts in rules I have another quick question (Off-topic but doesnt need a new thread) about skirmish which way underrated in my opinion. A lot of scenarios rules are vague on the cards such as you can pick a shield or pick up an experimental weapon etc. Explicitly it is not stated you use an action... but do you?

Can you give a better example?

Interact is always an action, unless mission rules state otherwise.

"Action", RRG, Page 3:

During a figure’s activation, it may perform two actions. The available actions are Attack, Move, Interact , Rest, and Special.

If I were to wager a guess at what you are referring to, my guess would be that these scenarios utilize the words "Retrieve" and "Claim", which are often overlooked references:

"Retrieving Tokens", RRG, Page 22:

Some missions allow figures to retrieve specific tokens. A figure adjacent to or in the same space as the token can perform an interact to retrieve the token. Place the token on the figure’s base to mark that the figure is now carrying that token. The token now moves with the figure.

  • A carried token cannot be retrieved by other figures, traded to other figures, or voluntarily dropped.
  • If a figure is defeated, any tokens that it is carrying are dropped in its space. This includes when a hero becomes wounded or if he withdraws.
  • Mission rules specify the effect and purpose of retrieving tokens.
  • At the end of a mission, all carried tokens are returned to the game box.
  • Retrieving a token is not claiming a token.

"Claim", RRG, Page 8:

When a player claims a token or component, he places it in his play area. The effect of claiming a token is explained in the mission’s rules.

  • At the end of a mission, all claimed tokens are returned to the game box.
Edited by Fizz

Interesting... for some reason I thought i read you cannot target the same figure. Anyways since you guys are experts in rules I have another quick question (Off-topic but doesnt need a new thread) about skirmish which way underrated in my opinion. A lot of scenarios rules are vague on the cards such as you can pick a shield or pick up an experimental weapon etc. Explicitly it is not stated you use an action... but do you?

Can you give a better example?

Interact is always an action, unless mission rules state otherwise.

"Action", RRG, Page 3:

During a figure’s activation, it may perform two actions. The available actions are Attack, Move, Interact , Rest, and Special.

If I were to wager a guess at what you are referring to, my guess would be that these scenarios utilize the words "Retrieve" and "Claim", which are often overlooked references:

"Retrieving Tokens", RRG, Page 22:

Some missions allow figures to retrieve specific tokens. A figure adjacent to or in the same space as the token can perform an interact to retrieve the token. Place the token on the figure’s base to mark that the figure is now carrying that token. The token now moves with the figure.

  • A carried token cannot be retrieved by other figures, traded to other figures, or voluntarily dropped.
  • If a figure is defeated, any tokens that it is carrying are dropped in its space. This includes when a hero becomes wounded or if he withdraws.
  • Mission rules specify the effect and purpose of retrieving tokens.
  • At the end of a mission, all carried tokens are returned to the game box.
  • Retrieving a token is not claiming a token.

"Claim", RRG, Page 8:

When a player claims a token or component, he places it in his play area. The effect of claiming a token is explained in the mission’s rules.

  • At the end of a mission, all claimed tokens are returned to the game box.

Perfect, exactly what I was referring to

Geonosis Foundry (Weapons project B)

I guess I played it sort of right, except in bullet point 2, the experiential weapon is not discarded but only dropped. : /

I wish they were consistent with terms so you don't have to refer to another rule, just state "interact" like they did in Mos Eisley Outskirts A: "A figure can interact ..."

Edited by Amraam01

Glad I was able to assist.

I wish they would just italicize or bold keywords that refer to rules (like Interact, Claim, and Retrieve) for better referencing.