Card: Dakka Dakka Dakka

By Srgnt Kurgan, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Event Card: Dakka Dakka Dakka!

Deploy action: exhaust your warlord to deal 1 damage to each unit.

Ok, so it's an event, which usually can be played at any time. It has a Deploy Action, so I assume it can therefore only be played during deploy phase... Right?

And if so, I have to exhaust my warlord at my headquarters to activate this?

And also- which units get damaged? Does it refer to all units at all planets? Opponents units? Units at specific planet? I looked it up at cardgamedb but the card doesn't have any commentaries about this. Any help much appreciated!

It's a deploy action, do yes, deployment phase only. As it's deployment, it takes your deployment turn as per the deployment framework (so you play this instead of deploying a unit).

Yes, the Warlord will be at HQ and will exhaust. Assuming you have no way to ready them, this means they will also arrive exhausted when committed in the Command phase.

Which units? Well, there's no restriction. It says 'each unit'. We know from the RRG that unless specifically mentioned card effects only affect cards in play, so in the absence of any further text that means EVERY unit in play - army, warlord, and token, and at every planet AND both player's HQs.

Yes, the Warlord will be at HQ and will exhaust. Assuming you have no way to ready them, this means they will also arrive exhausted when committed in the Command phase.

This means your Warlord won't give you an easy command, since only ready units count for command: even against no units, an exhausted warlord counts for nothing in a command struggle.

Thanks for the answers!

And I was just spelunking through cardgamedb and saw the same thing about warlords arriving at a planet exhausted - P. Brennan answered somewhere that exhausted warlord will still win command struggle automatically because it only matters that the warlord is at a planet and it doesn't specify in instructions that he has to be in a ready state. I just don't remember the link to that answer.

P. Brennan answered somewhere that exhausted warlord will still win command struggle automatically because it only matters that the warlord is at a planet and it doesn't specify in instructions that he has to be in a ready state.

If there is such an answer, it is in error. The instructions actually do specify the ready state - fairly clearly, in fact.

" 2.5 Resolve Command Struggle at First Planet

Resolve a command struggle at the first planet by comparing the units each player controls there, as follows:

- If only one player has a ready warlord present at the planet, that player automatically wins that planet’s command struggle.

- If each player has a ready warlord present at the planet, or if neither player has a ready warlord present at the planet, the player with the most command icons on ready units at the planet wins that command struggle. If the result is a tie, neither player wins the command struggle."

RRG, p. 24.

Yes ,u are 100% correct.

The topic was about if exhausted warlord could win initiative, not command struggle, so I totally messed up there. Sorry for the confusion. Here's his answer:

"The RRG Initiative section makes no mention of the warlord's state (ready or exhausted) being part of the criteria of determining initiative. Therefore a warlord's state is irrelevant. It's his presence (or not) which is the determining factor.

When in doubt, players should be encouraged to follow the rules literally, rather than extrapolate rules from other parts of the game to suit."