Slumbering gardens - can it cancel a planet ability effect?

By Gabb, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

The card reads:

Slumbering Gardens Interrupt: When an effect would move a unit you control from a planet, exhaust this support to cancel that effect.

although I'm not sure if it can work on a planets ability ( the planet that routs an enemy unit ), I see arguments for and against it

argument for it preventing the movement: The planet ability is an effect on the unit so it will work since the card doesn't state it has to be a card's effect but can be any effect

argument for it against preventing the movement: It specifically says effect on the card and according to the RRG the planet has battle abilities and abilities is not considered an effect in this context

some clarification please? Thanks

Why would a battle ability not be considered an effect? Having trouble seeing that in the RRG.

Yeah, I'm not following how the Battle ability of a planet doesn't have an effect.

Battle abilities do not count as "actions" that can be taken by a player, but they are still card abilities. Effects are whatever arises from the resolution of a card ability. So if all the rest of the play restrictions and triggering conditions are satisfied, cards that interrupt "effects" work against battle abilities just fine.

Yeah, I'm not following how the Battle ability of a planet doesn't have an effect.

Battle abilities do not count as "actions" that can be taken by a player, but they are still card abilities. Effects are whatever arises from the resolution of a card ability. So if all the rest of the play restrictions and triggering conditions are satisfied, cards that interrupt "effects" work against battle abilities just fine.

Thanks for the clarification. I dunno it just seemed weird that the battle abilities didn't use or mention the word "effect" anywhere so I could see the otherside of the argument ( that my enemy was making ), just like how certain cards can only counter other cards if it contains the word "target." For example the land raider says - " Non- Vehicle units you control at this planet cannot be targeted by enemy card abilities. " but this only works on enemy card abilities that specifically use the word target in their ability text.

So slumbering gardens CAN cancel out a planet battle ability since it is considered an effect just the same.

One last question what if the planet ability is the one that routs an enemy unit? Will slumbering gardens keep the unit there but it will be exhausted or will it just cancel the rout effect altogether?

Edited by Gabb

Exhausting the unit is a result of it being routed. If The routing is cancelled, it doesn't get exhausted.

One last question what if the planet ability is the one that routs an enemy unit? Will slumbering gardens keep the unit there but it will be exhausted or will it just cancel the rout effect altogether?

From the FAQ:

" (3.3) Movement and Committing

Routing, retreating, and deploying are not considered to be 'moves.'"

Since routing is not considered to be moving, Slumbering Gardens does not interact with effects that rout units at all.

Good catch! I guess my answer was technically correct, but Slumbering Gardens can't be the card than cancels the rout :P

It would work on Plannum's ability, though.