Please help me solve this thing that happened in-game

By Norm4nDuke, in Elder Sign

Hi folks! This is my first post here :D I have a question about something that happened during the last time I played. My fiancée, who was playing with me, had locked the red die with a spell lock. I wanted to use it during my next turn, but then I realized that, techincally, I had no access to the red die at the moment (I had no unique to discard, no ability to use. etc.). What would have been a rule-appropriate solution? Could I have simply taken the red die, because it was spell-locked, or should I have gained access to it first?

Thanks for your attention and answers :)

A spell-held die is accessible by anyone. You could take the result shown or you could take it for the purposes of then rolling it anew, if I recall correctly.

Yep, Tibs is right. If you need a reference in the rules, you can check the revised rulebook, pag 14, under "Removing Secured Dice"

A spell-held die is accessible by anyone. You could take the result shown or you could take it for the purposes of then rolling it anew, if I recall correctly.

Is this true even of the red die, which is normally not accessible without using special items or abilities?

Yes, it's true for the red die, the yellow die and the white die (when you have a blessing). Basically, spending the item gives you "power", represented by a die. You can spend it immediately (by completing tasks) or "save it for later" (by securing it on a spell). The power of the spells is that this "power" is available to other players as well

Yes, it's true for the red die, the yellow die and the white die (when you have a blessing). Basically, spending the item gives you "power", represented by a die. You can spend it immediately (by completing tasks) or "save it for later" (by securing it on a spell). The power of the spells is that this "power" is available to other players as well

Thanks! :)