That kooky Power icon...please help me clarify

By keltheos, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

So the 'power' icon is the red jewel with the hammer inside it.

Some cards add/subtract hammers.

Is the plain hammer the same as the power icon?

If this is spelled out somewhere in the rules, I'd like to know what page so I can feel less like a dunce.

When we played it so the hammer was just a damage icon it slowed the game down since cards like Armory weren't coming up during our game. Now that we've played few more games with those coming up it makes more sense that the hammer and the gem with a hammer in it are the same symbol...just trying to confirm.

Thanks!

Haven't seen anything to indicate that the hammer/gem are different. I think they're both power, just one is simplified slightly for inclusion in the text.

The Hammer symbol, even if it's missing the red orb around it is the same as the Power symbol. Hammer = Power. :)

You're not a dunce by any means - everyone has issues with rules because we all come from different gaming backgrounds and from different styles of English, as well. I tend to over-think rules or read into them, for example, while others are prone to overlook the details and so forth.

No worries and welcome to the fold! happy.gif

And for official confirmation, I remembered that the tutorial includes use of a Tactic which increases power, so it's pretty solid.

Although it's not spelled out specifically in the rulebook, the example on page 15 makes it pretty clear.

Thanks, crew.

Thought as much, but wanted to be sure hadn't missed it somewhere.