Bigga is Betta card clarification question

By Gabb, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

So this card really confuses me in the way it plays out, I'm assuming unlike supports that reduce the cost by 1, this card only comes into effect after you pay the full cost of the unit?

So in other words if I had 3 resources and wanted to buy a 4 cost unit I could not, but if I had the support that reduces the cost by 1 I could afford it, right?

I don't believe that's correct. I'd have to check the timing chart to be sure (which I can't do from work), but because of the way timing on deployments is handled I'm pretty sure there's an opportunity to play the Interrupt before calculating if you can afford to pay the deployment cost.

I'm sure ktom will be along shortly with a rules citation to tell me if I'm right or not anyway :P

RRG p. 23

A player is not permitted to deploy or play a card he cannot afford; however an interrupt ability to deploying/playing a card may be used to reduce an unaffordable card’s cost to an amount that the player can afford to play.

Bigga Is Betta is worded the same as Bigtoof Banna (and the equivalent reducers for other factions): both interrupt deploying an Ork unit. So they all work the same way.

RRG p. 23

A player is not permitted to deploy or play a card he cannot afford; however an interrupt ability to deploying/playing a card may be used to reduce an unaffordable card’s cost to an amount that the player can afford to play.

Bigga Is Betta is worded the same as Bigtoof Banna (and the equivalent reducers for other factions): both interrupt deploying an Ork unit. So they all work the same way.

But do I deploy the unit and then immediately use the event card in the deploy phase? because I thought you can only play 1 card in the deploy phase and then your turn ends ( as described on section 1.2 of page 23 of the RRG )

because I thought you can only play 1 card in the deploy phase and then your turn ends ( as described on section 1.2 of page 23 of the RRG )

That's not really what it says. It says that during your deployment turn, you can deploy one card or initiate one action. It's not like deploying a unit from your hand stops you from playing event cards that interrupt or react to the deployment. They are separate things. Triggering a interrupt (or a reaction) does not take a separate deployment turn, no matter what kind of card it is on.

Take a look at the sequence for deploying cards on p. 8-9 of the RRG. You play the event to interrupt Step 3 of that process, reducing the cost to deploy.