OK. A lot of people seem to be REALLY confused by the email ruling we got from Frank about Conner Net. I was loathe to create yet another thread on the subject that could spiral into pointlessness, but it really seems like a bunch of people need the clarification clarified.
For starters, here is a copy of the email, so everyone is on the same page. I have added a couple carriage returns to the text to make it a bit more readable, but have not altered the actual text at all.
In response to your rules question:
Rules Question:
Question about conner nets. At some point someone emailed you all about what to do if Leebo is used when Advanced Sensors...
Here's the email Frank sent. "Rule Question: Leebo as crew on a B-wing with advanced sensors. What happens during the activation phase, when you use Leebo before you reveal your dial, and gain an ion token? Does the ion effect change for the activation phase kick in immediately, resulting in a 1 white forward even though a player has a dial set but not revealed? Or does the whole ion effect come into play next turn? The B-wing would perform a free boost action (receiving an ion token) and then still reveal its maneuver like normal. The effects of the ion token would occur during the next planning and activation phases." This has caused a discussion on the msg boards about how conner nets work. Based on the above email from Frank, if a ship hits a conner net, the ion tokens wouldn't go into effect until the next turn. So a ship wouldn't be able to perform any actions this turn, but would perform it's maneuver like normal and then perform the white 1 straight next turn.
If a Conner Net is dropped overlapping a ship and immediately detonates, and that ship has not yet activated this phase, that ship executes the maneuver on its dial as normal and skips its “Perform Action” step.
If a Conner Net is dropped overlapping a ship and immediately detonates, and that ship has activated this phase, that ship suffers the effects of being ionized next turn and does not skip any “Perform Action” step.
If a ship is ionized, executes its 1 straight maneuver, and overlaps a Connor Net, all ion tokens are discarded at the end of the maneuver (including those received from Connor Net).
Thanks for playing,
Frank Brooks
Game Developer
Fantasy Flight Games
[email protected]
Now. This whole answer can be summed up as follows...
If you are hit with a Conner Net...
- you take a point of damage.
- you skip your "Perform Action" step this round if you have not already taken it.
- you will be ionized next round. The ONLY exception to this is if you were already ionized before hitting/being hit by the net. If that is the case the net does nothing more to you and its tokens will go away at the same time the ones you already had do.
That is everything Frank's email says.