Line of sight question

By Swusn, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

post-253788-0-52900200-1440855255_thumb.jpg

Ok, In figure 1 would green 3 have line of sight to red 1?

If he traced line of sight from the Lower left corner of his tile to the upper right and lower right he would be blocked. However if he tried to trace his line of sight from The lower left of his tile to the upper left and right of red 1 he would not be blocked. ( I assumed that tracing line of sight lines that overlap eachother was not allowed)

In figure 2 we have the same scenario but green 3 is adjacent to red 1. Can he trace line of sigt over each other (ie Green 3's lowerleft corner to red 1's upper corners or right corners)

If the assumption I made in figure one is true then green 3 would not have line of sight in figure 2 but that would be illogical. Please let me know what you think and how you play it.

Check RRG Page 26-27

LoS in both cases Edit: Wrong.

Edited by DerBaer

Wait, maybe I'm just having trouble visualizing it, but what are the 2 lines that can be drawn in figure 1?

Check RRG Page 26-27

LoS in both cases

Never noticed page 26.

"Line of sight can be traced through the target" This indicates that Green three has line of sight in figure two.

"The lines cannot overlap" This leads me to believe Green 3 does NOT have LoS in figure 1. (But Red 1 does have LoS on Green 3.

Thanks for the reference. Can't believe I missed that whole page.

The first instance, the green 3 does NOT have line of sight. In essence, there is no triangle from any of G3's corners to any two of red's corners with a non-zero area. (which is the effect of requiring non over lapping lines).

However, the second instance there is. From G3's lower left corner to any two other corner's of red.

daa

The first instance, the green 3 does NOT have line of sight. In essence, there is no triangle from any of G3's corners to any two of red's corners with a non-zero area. (which is the effect of requiring non over lapping lines).

However, the second instance there is. From G3's lower left corner to any two other corner's of red.

daa

Ok, that's what I thought. I had interpreted DerBaer's response as saying G3 had line of sight in both cases and was confused (just got the game myself a week ago).

I'm sorry. Misunderstood the question.

Example 1: Red1 has LoS to green 3 but not vice versa.

Figure 1: Red 1 has LoS to Green 3, but not Green 3 to Red 1

Figure 2: both have LoS