Diagonal moving between corners an occupied space

By Malazath, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

There is a question I just cant find an answer. Rules are saying:

"Figures can move diagonally along the corner of any INDIVIDUAL wall, blocking terrain, or impassible terrain, but a figure cannot move through the diagonal intersection of any combination of wall, blocking , or impassible terrain (see “Appendix II - Movement Examples” on page 27)."

Now see the situation in this picture. Garghan has 4 MP and wants to reach the space marked as no 4. Can he do so? I would say no. In my oppinion the stormtrooper on no 2 creates the same effect as the blocking terrain right to his side.

So Garkhan cant make this move: to no1(1MP) to no3 (2MP) to no4 (1MP), because he cant pass the corner from no1 to no 3, where TWO wall are touching (other than the in the rulebook mentioned INDIVIDUAL wall).

As I see it the stormtrooper and the double wall corner creating the same situation as the blocking terrain and the double wall corner to the right, which cannot be passed diagonally by rule.

Is this right?

post-238775-0-07927800-1440849241_thumb.jpg

He can make the move because other figures are the equivalent to difficult terrain. Think about it from the size of the figure not the base. The trooper is in the center of the square and you can slip between him and the corner.

Figures are not blocking Terrain.

but a figure cannot move through the diagonal intersection of any combination of wall, blocking , or impassible terrain (see “Appendix II - Movement Examples” on page 27)."

This rule means that the Royal Guard cannot move into the empty space on the other side of the blocking terrain. It does not apply to the corner past which Gaarkhan is trying to move.

Walking carpet would be able to make it via this path:

Token 1- 1 move point

Token 3 - 2 move points

Token 4 - 1 move point

As mentioned earlier, the rule you cite would apply to the royal guard being unable to move from its current space to 1 space diagonal down to the right when looking at picture. The reason is because we have a wall coming up and connecting with an impassable terrain indicated by the solid red line.

As mentioned, the ST does not count as blocking/impassable terrain.

Gaarkhan can indeed move to 1 - 3 - 4 for 4 MPs.

In addition, he can move to the space on either side of 4.

Thanks guys. Got it and it makes sense to me.

This is the best game ever!