3 Questions: One Simple, Two Not Simple

By player2164661, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

1) Must I attack if I don't want to? I was playing against Ku'gath with the plaguefather's banner. I only had a ranged unit. I did not want to feed him damage.

Instead, I wanted to back out after taking one damage. I was able to attack, bud did not want to. Can I pass, take his one damage, and then back out?

2) Can the Tau support cards prevent (i.e. blank) reactions like that of the Eldar Wraith Knight when the Knight deploys? This does imply I'm using it like

a reaction too.

2.a.) Must the effect be pointed to a specific unit or can it be any effect whether pointed or not?

3) I used Urien's glove to double the effect of assigning 3 damage to a unit. What is the sequence of this? Here is what happened: I played the event to assign three damage.

The opponent played an event to cancel the effects. I then exhausted Urien to double the effect and assign him 3 more damage. The questions were:

a) does his initial event card played (that canceled the first effect) nullify my event card all together so I can't double it via the glove? Or, does his

even card cancel the first instance of my event only hence allowing me to double it and cause him 3 damage?

b) Must I declare the doubling immediately upon playing my card and before the opponent declares a response? Or, can I use the event, see his reaction, then double it in the same action window?

1) You must attack, even if your attacking unit has an attack value of zero.

2) Can you specify which card you mean?

3) Action windows pass back and forth, but reactions and interrupts interfere with this process. Again I don't have the specific cards to reference, but if your effect was cancelled, it's gone like it never happened. There is no damage to be doubled.

1. As CommissarFeesh says, you must attack with a unit when it is your turn to do so - whether during the ranged skirmish or the regular combat round. You cannot refuse to attack just because you don't like to probable consequences.

2. I don't know any Tau supports that "blank" other cards. The only support I can think of that blanks units is Dark Eldar support "Twisted Laboratory." If you are referring to this card, it is an "Action." After a player deploys something like the Wraithknight, no player will have the opportunity to trigger an "Action" until after all Reactions to the Wraithknight being deployed/entering play are triggered. So no, you would not be able to use any "Action" ability to counter or prevent the Wraithknight's own reaction to itself entering play. You can't use an "Action" as if it were a reaction just because it would be more convenient - if for no other reason than that the card doesn't tell you what it can react to.

2a. Again, without identifying the card you are asking about, this question is pretty hard to answer. Are you asking about the Wraithknight's ability, Twisted Laboratory's ability, or some other unnamed card? Generally, though, if an effect uses the word "target," its effects are directed toward a specific unit. Without the word "target," it might still be directed toward a specific unit, but that unit is not considered to be a target (which is important for interrupts and reactions that specify things like, "when an opponent triggers an ability that targets one of your units...").

3. Cancels are interrupts. Ichor Gauntlet is a reaction. Interrupts to a particular triggering condition always come before reactions to the same triggering condition. So your order would HAVE to be; A. Original Torture event; B. Cancel; C. Ichor Gauntlet

3a. The text on Ichor Gauntlet says, "After you play a Torture event card...". Even though the effects of your original Torture event are canceled, you are still considered to have played the event (i.e., reveal the card from your hand, pay the cost, put the card in the discard pile, etc.). So even though the original event was canceled, you can still copy the effects with the Gauntlet (even though the effects didn't resolve the first time).

3b. The Gauntlet is a completely separate effect from the original event. It's a reaction that can, but doesn't have to be, triggered when its triggering condition occurs. It's not like you have to announce all the reactions you will be triggering before you play a card.

Ah, I should have checked out the text on Ichor Gauntlet. If it was straight up damage doubling I'd have been correct, but it's duplicating the entire card effect. As usual ktom comes in with the correct answer.

There is a Tau support that cancels effects targeting a unit with attachments (it's the signature for Shadowsun). That support wouldn't work against Mighty Wraithknight. either, because the reaction doesn't target anything (as Ktom pointed out in 2a, targeting must be explicitly mentioned in card text).

2) Can you specify which card you mean?

Communications Relay is the only Support card that I can think of that is a must include in your deck. However, as mentioned above by ktom, this card is only effective when an army card has an attachments or more.... thus, not what the original poster is describing. (I think)