Combo clarification: To the limit + Pummel
You could play To The Limit after using pounce, however, if you use the "attack" part of pounce (as the attack granted by pounce is not mandatory), this would prevent you from then using Pummel during the same activation.
Edited by FizzOk, thank you so much.
Edited by Sirjo
You could play To The Limit after using pounce, however, if you use the "attack" part of pounce (as the attack granted by pounce is not mandatory), this would prevent you from then using Pummel during the same activation.
I don't have the rules in front of me, so I could be wrong, but I believe that you are restricted to one action that includes an attack per activation. Depending on the rule's exact wording, this would prevent you from using Pounce followed by Pummel (or attack) even if you did not use the attack permitted by the pounce.
I believe that you are restricted to one action that includes an attack per activation.
Correct
But the attack granted by Pounce is optional, if you don't attack with that, then you haven't made an attack yet to violate the single attack restriction.
"Changes From the Campaign", Page 5, SG:
Attacking:
Figures can only use one of their actions to attack per activation. This includes using special actions that involve performing one or more attacks (such as the Nexu’s “Pounce” or Darth Vader’s “Brutality”).
I think your Gaarkhan case is ok. You can Pummel then trigger To the Limit to Charge and then after the action granted by To the Limit (Charge in this case) you become Stunned.
I don't see why you shouldn't be able to unleash the full devastation of a wounded Gaarkhan with:
Pummel (2 attacks for 2 actions)
To the Limit (to get an extra action)
Charge (to move and get an attack)
Get Stunned.
Deployment Cards overrule Rulebook in case of conflict
Yeah, "Enraged" flat out states Gaarkhan can attack multiple times per activation. So this would be a legal card combo.
Same goes for any figure that has the "Assault" keyword.
Got clarification:
I'm playing with a Scum unit called "Nexu" with the special ability "Pounce: Place your figure in an empty space within 3 spaces. Then, you may perform an attack."At the moment it active i use his ability "Pounce" and right after the card command "To the limit: Use after you resolve a especial hability during your activation to perform 1 additional action. Then you become Stunned".Can I play on it the command card "Pummel: (2 especial action): If you have the melee attack type, perform 2 attacks" on it for two more attacks in the same activation?It does not work?You could only make one more attack by the rule of number of attacks per turn?
From the rules (RRG, pg.3, Actions): "A figure can perform each special action only once per activation."
Since Pounce is a special action, the rest of the question is moot. You can't use Pounce twice in one activation.
I'm playing with a Scum unit called "Nexu" with the special ability "Pounce: Place your figure in an empty space within 3 spaces. Then, you may perform an attack."At the moment it active i use his ability "Pounce" and right after the card command "To the limit: Use after you resolve a especial hability during your activation to perform 1 additional action. Then you become Stunned".Can I play on it the command card "Pummel: (2 especial action): If you have the melee attack type, perform 2 attacks" on it for two more attacks in the same activation?It does not work?You could only make one more attack by the rule of number of attacks per turn?
From the rules (RRG, pg.3, Actions): "A figure can perform each special action only once per activation."
Since Pounce is a special action, the rest of the question is moot. You can't use Pounce twice in one activation.
That was not my question nashkara but thanks so much everybody for your answers, question clarified.
Doh. Apparently I failed at reading comprehension today.
I'm playing with a Scum unit called "Nexu" with the special ability "Pounce: Place your figure in an empty space within 3 spaces. Then, you may perform an attack."At the moment it active i use his ability "Pounce" and right after the card command "To the limit: Use after you resolve a especial hability during your activation to perform 1 additional action. Then you become Stunned".Can I play on it the command card "Pummel: (2 especial action): If you have the melee attack type, perform 2 attacks" on it for two more attacks in the same activation?It does not work?You could only make one more attack by the rule of number of attacks per turn?
From the rules (RRG, pg.3, Actions): "A figure can perform each special action only once per activation."
Since Pounce is a special action, the rest of the question is moot. You can't use Pounce twice in one activation.
Actually you can with the Command Card "Single Purpose". You can still only do 1 attack though. So Single Purpose is probably used better elsewhere
I understand the combos "Pounce (without attacking) -> To the Limit -> Pummel" and "Charge -> To the Limit -> Pummel (if u suffered at least one damage)".
But can you use To the Limit after Pummel?
To the Limit triggers after resolving a (single arrow) special action. Pummel is a (double arrow) special action.
Vollie
I understand the combos "Pounce (without attacking) -> To the Limit -> Pummel" and "Charge -> To the Limit -> Pummel (if u suffered at least one damage)".
But can you use To the Limit after Pummel?
To the Limit triggers after resolving a (single arrow) special action. Pummel is a (double arrow) special action.
Vollie
I would argue that you can't use To the Limit after Pummel.
A "Special Action" symbol on the card indicates it is a "Special Action"
Special actions are denoted on components by the > icon.
A figure can choose to spend one of its actions to resolve a
special action from one of its cards. If an ability has two >
icons, it costs the figure two of its actions to resolve this ability.
A >> action is still a "Special Action", but To the Limit seems to indicate that only a > Special Action would trigger.
Edited by MajushiThe trigger is "Special Action", whether it is a ┌► or a ┌► ┌► or even ┌► ┌► ┌► ┌► (if it were to exist) does not matter. Performing a ┌► ┌► does not mean you didn't perform a ┌►, it only means you have an additional cost to perform that special action. The trigger has been satisfied.
Edited by FizzThe trigger is "Special Action", whether it is a ┌► or a ┌► ┌► or even ┌► ┌► ┌► ┌► (if it were to exist) does not matter. Performing a ┌► ┌► does not mean you didn't perform a ┌►, it only means you have an additional cost to perform that special action. The trigger has been satisfied.
Quoted for truth.
Ok, good to know.
So an Imperial Officer could ready Darth Vader using New Orders AND move him into battle using To the Limit. In most cases that should be a gamebreaking combo.
The trigger is "Special Action", whether it is a ┌► or a ┌► ┌► or even ┌► ┌► ┌► ┌► (if it were to exist) does not matter. Performing a ┌► ┌► does not mean you didn't perform a ┌►, it only means you have an additional cost to perform that special action. The trigger has been satisfied.
Doesn't this really depend on whether ┌► ┌► is a "double special action symbol" or two ┌► "single special action symbols".
Either way, is there an actual official response on the matter? I think you're probably right, but best to get confirmation officially...
Nope, you're splitting hairs there. The rules even state the difference. If the ┌► icon exists, then it is a special action.
"Actions", Page 3, RRG
Special actions are denoted on components by the ┌► icon.
A figure can choose to spend one of its actions to resolve a special action from one of its cards. If an ability has two ┌► icons, it costs the figure two of its actions to resolve this ability.
There is no such thing as a double special action, or an uber special action, or a hyper special action, or a super duper extra terrific yummy delicious special action.
Edited by FizzI used "to the Limit" to give myself another action to use a "super duper extra terrific yummy delicious special action" to cause Fizz to answer your question!
Fizz's answers all have +4 accuracy...
My answers roll Blue, Red, Yellow, and can surge to become Focused.
Taste the rainbow.
Taste the rainbow.
Skittles porn.