Very necessary figure limitation errata proposal!

By Stormtrooper721, in Imperial Assault Campaign

page 8 in the RRG:

"In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in the game. For example, the Imperial player is limited to six regular and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple copies of the game."

This definitely needs to be changed! It seems to imply that players cannot use new expansions in their games! It means that Rebel players cannot try using newer heroes or newer allies in older campaigns and that the Imperial player cannot use new bad guys like Heavy Stormtroopers and Rodian hired guns in open groups.

I understand the spirit of the rule was to prevent the Imperial player from swamping the Rebel heroes with impossible swarms of cheap Stormtroopers. My proposal will respect that spirit and allow new characters to be played:

"In any campaign mission, the Imperial player is limited to one elite copy and two regular copies of any one specific non-unique deployment card. This total is spread throughout the initial, reserved, and open groups. For example, if the Imperial player has an elite Stormtrooper in the initial group and one regular Stormtrooper in the reserved group, then only one regular Stormtrooper may be chosen for the open group."

Please like this post if you agree that this would make a good errata. IMHO, I think it does retain the spirit of the old rule without the restriction of never being allowed to use new expansions in your campaigns.

It's also an easy rule to remember because it's exactly half of the skirmish mode limitation of two elites and four regulars of any one non-unique deployment card.

Not to play devil's advocate with your post, does seem reasonable since it changes the wording to make it specific to the card, however I feel that the errata is not needed.

In what instances do the expansions hamper your ability to use any of the new figures from the expansions in your campaigns?

It's not hard to understand. You can only use what is included in ONE expansion, core game, mini expansion etc etc.

And even then, if you're playing campaign you're most likely playing with friends. So just make a house rule or two of what is allowed. You really are blowing this out of proportion.

The example that is going into my head with this rule is the standard Stormtrooper unit. You can have 2 regular Stormtrooper units and 1 elite Stormtrooper. They have standard Stormtroopers in the expansion? I thought they were called Heavy Stormtroopers which, based on the name, would not fall into the basic Stormtrooper category which would allow you to not have to worry about going over this rule.

I may be wrong, I do not have the expansion so I can only go off of what I have seen from the expansion.

I agree with you Patrick that in a campaign it is a

somewhat friendly environment :ph34r:

and should just say what is possible and what is not. Though there are some that nitpick the most trivial things and the rules are there to keep them in line.

It's already all accounted for in the rules. More recent rule books take priority over the earlier rule books.

In the Twin Shadows expansion rule book, it says the following:

In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in this expansion. For example, the Imperial player is limited to two regular and two elite Tusken Raider figures, even if he owns multiple copies of this expansion.

This makes it clear that in a campaign (ANY! campaign), the Imperial player cannot bring in multiple copies of Twin Shadows units.

Kayn, Boba, and the others are already accounted for: Unique villains can only be used if their Agenda mission has been completed.

I imagine when the new "non unique" villain packs come out (Stormtrooperand Hired Guns pack) they will have some similar rules attached.

If I understand correctly, even if you own Stormtrooper villain pack, you are not allowed to deploy two elite Stormtrooper groups?

1 minute ago, alkemist said:

If I understand correctly, even if you own Stormtrooper villain pack, you are not allowed to deploy two elite Stormtrooper groups?

That is correct.

Thanks for quick response! We played it like this, just weren't sure if we ruled out it correctly.

32 minutes ago, jacenat said:

That is correct.

Are you sure about this. If you have the core set and the stormtrouper expansion you have two copies of the elite card, thus you could run two elite squads.

2 minutes ago, bryanc said:

Are you sure about this. If you have the core set and the stormtrouper expansion you have two copies of the elite card, thus you could run two elite squads.

It's still the same card so it's still limited to what came with the core. It's the only expansion I haven't gotten.

Each expansion says how they are integrated, and override any rules in the core box. The core game only says you cannot increase the number of groups by buying more than one core box.

(Generally the expansions say to "Add the Deployment and Reward cards to their respective supplies.")

Edited by a1bert
19 minutes ago, bryanc said:

Are you sure about this. If you have the core set and the stormtrouper expansion you have two copies of the elite card, thus you could run two elite squads.

The Stormtrooper villain pack explicitly says you can only still use one elite and two regular Stormtrooper groups in the campaign.

Stormtrooper Villain Pack said:

COMPONENT LIMITATIONS

In a campaign, when using Deployment cards found in the core
game, players are limited to the number of figures included in the
core game. Therefore, the Imperial player is limited to six regular
and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple
copies of the core game or this expansion.

Edited by a1bert
4 minutes ago, theChony said:

It's still the same card so it's still limited to what came with the core. It's the only expansion I haven't gotten.

Not that it's a big deal, but I believe this is incorrect. You are limited to what's included in any single instance of expansion set. In this scenario you have one copy of the core set and one copy of the storm trooper expansion this would give you access to two elites & three standard copies of the squad. At least that's how I've interperated the rule :)

Copy of my article in a recent BGG thread:

As far as I can determine, the core rules do not say anything about expansions, only that you can use components from 1 core only in the Component Limitations section.

Each expansion defines the limitations. The General Weiss pack does not have a limitation text, so you could use 2 AT-ST and General Weiss at the same time if you have 1 pack, and even more AT-ST's because the rulesheet in the pack does not limit you to 1 pack.

Other wave 1 and wave 2 packs are either unique or rebel allies, so they do not need a Component Limitations chapter. Their use is naturally limited to 1 pack.

The first packs with Component Limitations are Hired Guns and Stormtrooper villain pack from wave 3. Hired Guns are limited to deployment cards in one pack, i.e. two packs worth of figures. This applies to later non-unique villain packs too - the Bantha Rider is an exception to this like in so many other ways - only one Bantha Rider can be used in the campaign. The Stormtrooper villain pack does not increase the number of Stormtrooper groups you can have.

Admitted, getting even two AT-ST's and General Weiss into play at the same time is an achievement unlocked .

(And one of each pack is a good rule of thumb.)

1 hour ago, a1bert said:

Copy of my article in a recent BGG thread:

As far as I can determine, the core rules do not say anything about expansions, only that you can use components from 1 core only in the Component Limitations section.

Each expansion defines the limitations. The General Weiss pack does not have a limitation text, so you could use 2 AT-ST and General Weiss at the same time if you have 1 pack, and even more AT-ST's because the rulesheet in the pack does not limit you to 1 pack.

Other wave 1 and wave 2 packs are either unique or rebel allies, so they do not need a Component Limitations chapter. Their use is naturally limited to 1 pack.

The first packs with Component Limitations are Hired Guns and Stormtrooper villain pack from wave 3. Hired Guns are limited to deployment cards in one pack, i.e. two packs worth of figures. This applies to later non-unique villain packs too - the Bantha Rider is an exception to this like in so many other ways - only one Bantha Rider can be used in the campaign. The Stormtrooper villain pack does not increase the number of Stormtrooper groups you can have.

Admitted, getting even two AT-ST's and General Weiss into play at the same time is an achievement unlocked .

(And one of each pack is a good rule of thumb.)

I got it now. Thanks for the clarification!