Title says it all. I now have Twin Shadows and thus Heavy Stormtroopers, but my campaign group isn't finished of the original campaign yet. As the Imperial player, can I add Heavy Stormtroopers to my Open Groups to the original campaign missions?
Can Heavy Stormtroopers be used as Open Groups in the main IA campaign?
I wouldn't see why not. The Raiders can only be used on desert terrain which would put them only on the Twin Shadows missions. The Heavies do not have that, so I would say they are a go to play.
I wouldn't see why not. The Raiders can only be used on desert terrain which would put them only on the Twin Shadows missions. The Heavies do not have that, so I would say they are a go to play.
They retconned it so the desert tiles from the base campaign count as desert.
Yes you can use heavy stormtroopers in the base campaign, but since you already started the campaign it may be a bit unfair to use the heavy stormtroopers since you are (most likely) taking away the choice of the new rebel heroes, any shop cards they may have passed, and the green side mission card.
I figure I will mix in everything I can going forward. Since I am more GMing than competitively playing against the kids, I will add Stormtroopers with big blasters. They just feel Star Wars.
If you are in a really competitive campaign, I would discuss it with the players. Actually that is probably the best idea either way.
Thanks,
Duncan
Glad you asked this question, I had a similar concern with the Hired Guns expansion over on this thread:
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/171636-wave-iii-or-more-wave-ii/page-3
The one rule that bugs me is:
page 8 in the RRG:
"In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in the game. For example, the Imperial player is limited to six regular and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple copies of the game."
On one hand, the rule makes sense. It prevents the Imperial player to use the additional stormtroopers provided in the stormtrooper expansion pack.
Flip side, it downright denies mixing deployment cards from expansions.
Hoping for an FAQ on the matter cause right now the heavy troopers are in a weird grey area (no habitat restriction).
Glad you asked this question, I had a similar concern with the Hired Guns expansion over on this thread:
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/171636-wave-iii-or-more-wave-ii/page-3
The one rule that bugs me is:
page 8 in the RRG:
"In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in the game. For example, the Imperial player is limited to six regular and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple copies of the game."
On one hand, the rule makes sense. It prevents the Imperial player to use the additional stormtroopers provided in the stormtrooper expansion pack.
Flip side, it downright denies mixing deployment cards from expansions.
Hoping for an FAQ on the matter cause right now the heavy troopers are in a weird grey area (no habitat restriction).
I think its safe to assume (and play) it as you are limited to the number of figures included in only one copy of the expansion.
Example; You deploy Hired Guns in any mission. But since the figure pack only contains 2, even if you do buy two figure packs you are still only limited to 2 hired guns (and 1 deployment card) per mission.
Glad you asked this question, I had a similar concern with the Hired Guns expansion over on this thread:
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/171636-wave-iii-or-more-wave-ii/page-3
The one rule that bugs me is:
page 8 in the RRG:
"In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in the game. For example, the Imperial player is limited to six regular and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple copies of the game."
On one hand, the rule makes sense. It prevents the Imperial player to use the additional stormtroopers provided in the stormtrooper expansion pack.
Flip side, it downright denies mixing deployment cards from expansions.
Hoping for an FAQ on the matter cause right now the heavy troopers are in a weird grey area (no habitat restriction).
I hope that this is errata-ed. I would like use my Heavy Stormtroopers in the current campaign.
Glad you asked this question, I had a similar concern with the Hired Guns expansion over on this thread:
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/171636-wave-iii-or-more-wave-ii/page-3
The one rule that bugs me is:
page 8 in the RRG:
"In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in the game. For example, the Imperial player is limited to six regular and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple copies of the game."
On one hand, the rule makes sense. It prevents the Imperial player to use the additional stormtroopers provided in the stormtrooper expansion pack.
Flip side, it downright denies mixing deployment cards from expansions.
Hoping for an FAQ on the matter cause right now the heavy troopers are in a weird grey area (no habitat restriction).
I hope that this is errata-ed. I would like use my Heavy Stormtroopers in the current campaign.
Just do it, it's a game, the point is to have fun. It's not unbalancing and if you and/or your rebel players will enjoy it more *thumbs up*.
Okay: Checked the twin shadows rules:
"In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures includes in this expansion ..."
So no worries (until hired guns etc. come out).
Edited by Norgrath
In the Twin Shadows expansion rule book, it says the following:
In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in this expansion. For example, the Imperial player is limited to two regular and two elite Tusken Raider figures, even if he owns multiple copies of this expansion.
This makes it clear that in a campaign (ANY! campaign), the Imperial player can bring in Twin Shadows units, but only one expansions worth of them. (You can't buy 4 Twin Shadows games and use 4 Tusken Raider deployment cards)
Edited by Stokes52In the Twin Shadows expansion rule book, it says the following:
In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in this expansion. For example, the Imperial player is limited to two regular and two elite Tusken Raider figures, even if he owns multiple copies of this expansion.This makes it clear that in a campaign (ANY! campaign), the Imperial player can bring in Twin Shadows units, but only one expansions worth of them. (You can't buy 4 Twin Shadows games and use 4 Tusken Raider deployment cards)
This is what I've been saying the whole time. Yet people continue not to listen.
There's a line in the Twin Shadows booklet that says if you're in the middle of a campaign, upon acquiring the expansion, to finish with what you started. Like Pat said, it only seems fair to do that.
Hopefully mine will arrive in time for the next session (yay UK...).
I intend talk through with the group and agree how we are going to integrate the expansion into our existing campaign. We are five missions in and just had the Item1+2 combined item deck draw. I intend to propose a one time switch out of item 1 cards (one to one credit wise) for ones in the item 1 deck that we could have possibly drawn, with the other items going into their respective decks.
Any allies we might have wanted can be switched in for existing ones in the side mission deck (this has been helped by us only drawing one green side mission up to now).
Same thing for the villian agenda decks, the imperial player can switch out a set from the agenda deck for the new ones as long as he hasn't purchased/used any of the cards from that set.
I need to see how many greys missions there are for how to integrate them.
Obviously the heroes and new class deck aren't possible, but the new deployment cards can be used by the imperial player.
Edited by scott80