Hello,
With squad command kayn can focus an adjacent trooper if kayn spends the one surge for it.
Does he need to deal damage with the attack as he would need if he would try to focus himself?
Cheers,
Baer
Hello,
With squad command kayn can focus an adjacent trooper if kayn spends the one surge for it.
Does he need to deal damage with the attack as he would need if he would try to focus himself?
Cheers,
Baer
I believe so. The RRG says that when an attack uses a condition as a keyword (which seems to be the case with Squad Command) damage must be dealt for the condition to go into effect.
Yes, the keyword Focus is damage dependent. The attack much cause at least 1 damage to generate Focus:
"Focus", Page 12, RRG:
If a figure has the “Focus” keyword, it may become focused after attacking. If the target suffers one or more (damage), the attacker becomes Focused after the attack resolves.
Edited by FizzYes I got the same impression but Kayn does not have the focus keyword to become focused himself.
Then by that logic, the adjacent figure getting Focus from Kayn would never be a legal focus target because it is not the attacker.
Basically, treat it just like the keyword Focus, but Kayn gives the Focus to an adjacent trooper instead of himself.
Edited by FizzEDIT: I was wrong, official ruling is below.
I would also treat this as a condition where damage has to be dealt for it to take effect. We'll officially know from FFG in about a month.
Edited by theChonyGot confirmation that Squad Command doesn't require damage to be dealt:
The requirement for the target to suffer at least 1 damage only applies to applying conditions as a keyword in an attack (e.g. [surge]: Stun). Since “Squad Command” is a separate ability, it does not necessitate that the target of the attack suffer damage.
Paul WinchesterCreative Content DeveloperFantasy Flight Games
Got confirmation that Squad Command doesn't require damage to be dealt:
The requirement for the target to suffer at least 1 damage only applies to applying conditions as a keyword in an attack (e.g. [surge]: Stun). Since “Squad Command” is a separate ability, it does not necessitate that the target of the attack suffer damage.
Paul WinchesterCreative Content DeveloperFantasy Flight Games
Where is the quote from?
I submitted a rules question to FFG. It's kind of hard to find the link, but it's where the rules doc is online.
Thanks!
I have the rules submission query link in my signature.