Yesterday there was a game that ended in player victory by curious happenstance.
I started the game with the Call the Ancient One spell. A few turns later I acquired The Eltdown Shards unique item.
The Eltdown Shards allowed me to cast Call the Ancient One without me losing sanity.
I chose to cast the spell with a -13 modifier and a sanity cost of 13. Of course my dice pool got to negative, but the rules say that I can still use a single die. So I did just that. I did not succeed, but after spending a clue token, I did succeed. The Ancient One was awakened and immediately had 13 doom tokens removed from it (going to 0) resulting in instant player victory.
Was there an error in how we played it?