Does shock grenade require line of sight when choosing a space?

By nietger, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi

I have a question about the shock grenade. It says "Choose a space withing 3 spaces.". When choosing a space, is the player limited to only spaces the he currently has line of sight too? Or since it's a grenade, does it ignore enemy figures as obstacle since he is lobbing it over them?

here's a link to the card

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/imperial-assault/core-set-previews/preview-1/SWI01_supply_card_fan.png

Thanks

The space does not need to be in line of sight. When counting spaces "within" a certain number you just count X number of spaces away from the figure ignoring additional movement costs for moving through figures, etc.

We had a discussion during our last session where a rebel wanted to target the farther away space of the AT-ST because adjacent to it were Troopers.

We agreed that you can not target that space. How shall that be possible?

You somehow roll the grenade between his legs?

But reality aside, any rule reference for the right use of grenades?

We had a discussion during our last session where a rebel wanted to target the farther away space of the AT-ST because adjacent to it were Troopers.

We agreed that you can not target that space. How shall that be possible?

You somehow roll the grenade between his legs?

But reality aside, any rule reference for the right use of grenades?

That space can definitely be target if it is within 3 spaces.

Page 9 of the RRG tells you how to count the spaces:

Counting Spaces

Many effects require players to measure the distance between two spaces. To determine this number, the player counts the number of movement points it would take for a figure to move from one space to the other. Impassable terrain, figures, and difficult terrain can be moved into and through without costing additional movement point for this measurement. This measurement cannot go through walls, doors, or blocking terrain. • If a figure’s ability specifies to choose something within a set number of spaces, players count spaces from the figure using the ability. Likewise, if an ability specifies to choose an adjacent figure, the figure must be adjacent to the figure using the ability

All right. Pretty unambiguous. Thx, mate!

The grenade can be thrown / rolled / curved / bent up to three spaces away. If you would want to you could even detonate it on your own space. as long as there are no closed doors / walls / of impassable terrain in the way. So if it a solid red line / black line or door then it will not pass. This allows for the grenade to go around corners, through legs even over obstacles as long as it is 3 squares or less away.

The only rule relevant for grenades are those for counting spaces.

Line of sight, blocking figures, etc are all irrelevant.