Withdrawn Hero and What That Means for the Imperial

By BeajaKasai, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello, the other night while we were playing the campaign one of our heroes, sadly, was forced to withdraw. We couldn't find anything in the rules that was explicit about whether or not that mean the Imperial also lost a turn. I was assuming the Imperial would because the rules state that it alternates, but the Republic lost the argument as we couldn't find anything that said for sure one way or the other.

Could someone point out the part of the rules that I missed? I'm hoping/guessing it's in there somewhere. I did check the Erata but didn't see anything about this there either. Thanks in advance!

During the Campaign, each side takes turns activating figures until both sides no longer have figures left to activate.

The number of "deployments" or "activations" is a huge part of the strategy. For example, during some missions, the Rebels might have 4 activations, but the Imperials might only have 2 or 3 until the deploy more units.

The Imperial player always has to make a decision between deploying lots of low cost units to get more activations than the Rebels, or deploying a few high cost units for less activations, but more power.

I think there's a couple of points on activation you may have missed.

LTPG Pg. 4 and 5: "Activation Phase" and "Activating a Figure"

RRG Pg. 3: Activation. The part that you are specifically looking for is the 6th bullet point:

"If all friendly groups are exhausted, that player cannot perform any more activations this round. The player’s opponent(s) continue to resolve activations until all groups are exhausted."

Thanks, that was what I was looking for. Not the answer I was hoping for, but it I'm glad it's there and I just didn't see it.