skirmish multiple attacks

By period3, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

My understanding is that the rules forbid multiple attacks in Skirmish. So to clarify, this means:

- Fenn's "assault" ability is useless.

- The 'to the limit' command card cannot ever be used to make multiple attacks, even when combined with characters that explicitly say they can perform multiple attacks, like Fenn.

- Ferocity cannot be used on any creature who has already attacked that round. EDIT: Actually the manual said only one attack per activation, so this is probably alllowed.

- FFG still has no clue how to write a rules manual.

Edited by period3

It is possible for cards to overrule general rules in the booklets, see Golden Rules on Page 2 of the RRG. Assault overrides the one attack per activation rule. To the Limit could be used to perform another attack with Fenn although he needs to perform a special action during his activation as per the To the Limit text.

Ferocity takes place outside of activation and figures can attack as many times as they are given attacks when it is not their activation.

Edited by MikeNYHC

Thanks for the reply. The skirmish rules say:

"Attacking: Figures can only use one of their actions to attack per activation. This includes using special actions that involve performing one or more attacks (such as the Nexu’s “Pounce” or Darth Vader’s “Brutality”)."

Doesn't that mean that that rule overrides what is on the card?

It is possible for cards to overrule general rules in the booklets, see Golden Rules on Page 2 of the RRG. Assault overrides the one attack per activation rule. To the Limit could be used to perform another attack with Fenn although he needs to perform a special action during his activation as per the To the Limit text.

Ferocity takes place outside of activation and figures can attack as many times as they are given attacks when it is not their activation.

Thanks for the reply. The skirmish rules say:

"Attacking: Figures can only use one of their actions to attack per activation. This includes using special actions that involve performing one or more attacks (such as the Nexu’s “Pounce” or Darth Vader’s “Brutality”)."

Doesn't that mean that that rule overrides what is on the card?

It is possible for cards to overrule general rules in the booklets, see Golden Rules on Page 2 of the RRG. Assault overrides the one attack per activation rule. To the Limit could be used to perform another attack with Fenn although he needs to perform a special action during his activation as per the To the Limit text.

Ferocity takes place outside of activation and figures can attack as many times as they are given attacks when it is not their activation.

No, that means you can't use things like brutality or pounce as well as a normal attack action.

Assault overrides the rule.

Not exactly your question, but clarifying the skirmish rule you quoted:

1) I know that in the skirmish rulebook it says that no unit can take 2 atack action. So, how does garkhaan, Fenn, or the eweb work? Im guess those rules have priority over the normal right? But then, when the rules about no atacking twice appear in the skirmish rules, its says that for example, vader cant use brutaly. Im not understanding somethings here.

Thanks for the answers WWHSD. My final doubt about the first question, is about vaders ability, since in the skirmish manual says that brutality DOESN'T work...weird.

Well, Vader does not have "Assault" so he can only use one action to attack, and that includes special actions like brutality.

Looking at the rule (pg 5. Skirmish Guide):

Attacking: Figures can only use one of their actions to attack per activation. This includes using special actions that involve performing one or more attacks (such as the Nexu’s "Pounce” or Darth Vader’s “Brutality”).

The difference from that and the other figures is the fact that it is spelled out that they can attack more than once because of the abilities:

Enraged : If you have suffered at least 1(dmg) , you can perform multiple attacks each activation.

or

Assault : You can perform multiple attacks each activation.

If you look at Brutality:

-> Brutality : Perform 2 attacks. Each attack must have a different target.

It allows you to use single a special action to perform 2 attacks, not 2 actions attacking. Brutality does not change the rule about using more than one action to attack, it changes what you can do with that one action.

Edited by agentc13