Skirmish Luke and Pummel

By shintaibane, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Just got my first games of Imperial Assault in last night and am enjoying it a lot. In my game last night we came across and issue that I am hoping to get some clarity on.

I played a command card on Luke titled Pummel to try and take two attacks with Luke's Saber Strike ability. The issue is that Pummel states:

<action symbol> <action symbol>: If you have the <melee symbol> attack type, perform two attacks.

Luke's natural attack type is ranged so he should not be able to use Pummel. However Luke's Saber Strike ability states:

<action symbol> Saber Strike: Perform a <melee symbol> attack using one red and one yellow die. This attack gains Pierce 3

So the question that we had is if Luke performs a Saber Strike can he then use the Pummel command?

Any help or insight would be great. Thanks in advance and I apologize if this has been asked before.

Just got my first games of Imperial Assault in last night and am enjoying it a lot. In my game last night we came across and issue that I am hoping to get some clarity on.

I played a command card on Luke titled Pummel to try and take two attacks with Luke's Saber Strike ability. The issue is that Pummel states:

<action symbol> <action symbol>: If you have the <melee symbol> attack type, perform two attacks.

Luke's natural attack type is ranged so he should not be able to use Pummel. However Luke's Saber Strike ability states:

<action symbol> Saber Strike: Perform a <melee symbol> attack using one red and one yellow die. This attack gains Pierce 3

So the question that we had is if Luke performs a Saber Strike can he then use the Pummel command?

Any help or insight would be great. Thanks in advance and I apologize if this has been asked before.

Unfortunately he cannot use Pummel to trigger Saber Strike.

Essentially, he only has a <melee attack> when you have activated Saber Strike with a Special Action.

At that point you have used one of your two actions, and cannot use a double Special Action to trigger Pummel.

Additionally, the Saber Strike <melee attack> would disappear after the action is completed.

The <melee symbol> attack required must be his normal attack, which he doesn't have.

Sorry

No apologies and thanks for the clarification! It helps a lot.