Self destruct and grenade defense

By Swusn, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

When a probe droid rolls 1 red die for self destruct or a grenade is used that says "roll i red die" do the defenders roll a defense die? I was playing through the Aftermath mission last night and the rebel player opened a crate, got a grenade and threw it at my cluster of 3 stormtroopers and 1 officer. the attacker rolled a three and instantly killed all of them. It seems to me that I am doing something wrong here.

Thanks for your input.

No - defenders do not roll defense dice for abilities. Only attacks.

You were doing it right.

Self Destruct, Grenades, Blast, Cleave, etc... just deal damage....no can defend.

Thank you for the replies. Man those grenades are brutal.