Some questions

By Grundle, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

I've check through the FAQ threads I could find and still had some speciific questions I was hoping someone here could help with.

1. When you discard items (either to going insane, an encounter, or simply from shopping) do they go into a discard pile or onto the bottom of that deck? (Ashcan Pete is really the reason I need to know cause his ability seems a little weak)

2. Hank Samson gets to ignore the first horror check of a combat, how does this work with Nightmarish creatures? Does he ignore the nightmarish unless he's forced to make the roll?

3. The Violinist (and others) storylines trigger on your "drawing" unique items. Does shopping count as "drawing" a unique item? Or does it only trigger through encounters that make you draw one?

4. Hound of Tindalos does just go right to the nearest location where there's an investigator right? Or does it simply move in that direction?

5. You can't read tomes in the out world because you have no movement points there, correct?

6. Can you Patrol Wagon your way all over Innsmouth/Kingsport/Dunwich just like Arkham? What about to weird locations like Devils Reef that normally require other means to enter them?

7. Speaking of the Patrol Wagon, when using it do you still get your movement points to read tomes?

8. I was playing as the Politician, I got a retainer at the newspaper and then triggered his storyline pass which gives him a retainer, so...can I have two? I wanted to say no that's silly, but couldn't find anything in the rules which said i couldn't have two retainers and the Bank Loan specifies that right on the card so I don't know.

9. The Lawyer's ability lets him discard clue tokens to add +1 to the result of a die roll, can this stack? i.e. he rolls a 3 can he discard 2 clue tokens to make that a 5 and success?

10. A flying creature emerges from a gate at Devils Reef. He then has to move, obviously there are no investigators to move to, so does he enter the rift, or go to the sky?

11. I know an evironment mythos card will replace the existing card, but that means if I have a weather environment out and an urban one flips I replace the weather one, right? Only 1 environment at a time, not 1 Urban, 1 Mystic, and 1 Weather, correct?

I know there's more stuff that's come up but that's all I can think of.I really appreciate any help anyone can give me on these. Thanks

Grundle said:

I1. When you discard items (either to going insane, an encounter, or simply from shopping) do they go into a discard pile or onto the bottom of that deck? (Ashcan Pete is really the reason I need to know cause his ability seems a little weak)

2. Hank Samson gets to ignore the first horror check of a combat, how does this work with Nightmarish creatures? Does he ignore the nightmarish unless he's forced to make the roll?

3. The Violinist (and others) storylines trigger on your "drawing" unique items. Does shopping count as "drawing" a unique item? Or does it only trigger through encounters that make you draw one?

4. Hound of Tindalos does just go right to the nearest location where there's an investigator right? Or does it simply move in that direction?

5. You can't read tomes in the out world because you have no movement points there, correct?

6. Can you Patrol Wagon your way all over Innsmouth/Kingsport/Dunwich just like Arkham? What about to weird locations like Devils Reef that normally require other means to enter them?

7. Speaking of the Patrol Wagon, when using it do you still get your movement points to read tomes?

8. I was playing as the Politician, I got a retainer at the newspaper and then triggered his storyline pass which gives him a retainer, so...can I have two? I wanted to say no that's silly, but couldn't find anything in the rules which said i couldn't have two retainers and the Bank Loan specifies that right on the card so I don't know.

9. The Lawyer's ability lets him discard clue tokens to add +1 to the result of a die roll, can this stack? i.e. he rolls a 3 can he discard 2 clue tokens to make that a 5 and success?

10. A flying creature emerges from a gate at Devils Reef. He then has to move, obviously there are no investigators to move to, so does he enter the rift, or go to the sky?

11. I know an evironment mythos card will replace the existing card, but that means if I have a weather environment out and an urban one flips I replace the weather one, right? Only 1 environment at a time, not 1 Urban, 1 Mystic, and 1 Weather, correct?

#1: Bottom of the deck.

#2: Nightmarish only kicks in after a Horror check, so if Hanky-Panky kills the monster on the first go (no Horror check), no Nightmarish.

#3: It's in the "Official Answers from Kevin Wilson" thread, means "draw and keep". Shopping counts as 1 IF you buy an item (going shopping with $1 lets to draw 3, but can't keep any IIRC at the C. Shoppe).

#4: Straight to the investigator.

#5: Yep and you can't even exhaust Map or Motor Cycle to get points there.

#6: Yep. In KH, the Kingsport Head is offlimits going in, not coming out. Whether Devil's Reef is, that's still in the air, or should I say water.

#7: You use it instead of normal movement, so no points.

#8: No.

"SPECIAL CARD LIMITATIONS
In most cases, a player may never have more than one
copy of each special card at the same time. This rule
applies to Retainers, Bank Loans, Silver Twilight
Memberships, and Bless/Curse cards." (p. 23)

#9: Yes

#10: Sky

#11: Yep, only 1 Environment.

Related:

Base board is at the monster limit. Flying monster from expansion board moves. Would it go to the sky or the outskirts?

Neither, expansions monsters don't count for the monsterlimit.

GrooveChamp said:

Related:

Base board is at the monster limit. Flying monster from expansion board moves. Would it go to the sky or the outskirts?

Outskirts. Same for Hound of Tindalos, Aquatics, etc. who move into Arkham when it's at monster limit.

Dam said:

Grundle said:

9. The Lawyer's ability lets him discard clue tokens to add +1 to the result of a die roll, can this stack? i.e. he rolls a 3 can he discard 2 clue tokens to make that a 5 and success?

#9: Yes

I'm not questioning the accuracy of this answer, but was this officially clarified at any point or is it clear from any section of the rule books that his skill works this way?

cheers

pumpkin said:

I'm not questioning the accuracy of this answer, but was this officially clarified at any point or is it clear from any section of the rule books that his skill works this way?

Kevin Wilson:

"As for George Barnaby, I can only wonder if people are playing him correctly if they think he's that weak. Every time he spends a clue token, he can add +1 to the result of one of his dice instead of rolling an extra die. In the utter worst case scenario, that's 4 clues for a guaranteed success on any skill check (assuming you roll all 1s). Yes, it can be clue intensive, but sure things are fairly rare in Arkham. "

www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/411896

Now if George could walk to the **** mailbox without getting short of breath, he'd be an excellent all-round character.

Dam said:

pumpkin said:

I'm not questioning the accuracy of this answer, but was this officially clarified at any point or is it clear from any section of the rule books that his skill works this way?

Kevin Wilson:

"As for George Barnaby, I can only wonder if people are playing him correctly if they think he's that weak. Every time he spends a clue token, he can add +1 to the result of one of his dice instead of rolling an extra die. In the utter worst case scenario, that's 4 clues for a guaranteed success on any skill check (assuming you roll all 1s). Yes, it can be clue intensive, but sure things are fairly rare in Arkham. "

www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/411896

Nice.

Thanks