Provoke :
Use after you resolve an activation to choose a hostile figure adjacent to one of your Troopers or Guardians. That figure's group must activate next if able.
If I provoke a unit of my opponent and he could skip his activation, would he be allowed to skip a turn and activate the provoked figure with his next activation or does the "must" in provoke prevents the opponent from skipping his turn?
For Reference the ruling on skipping a turn :
Edited by BaerThe “Activation Phase” entry on page 3 should include the following bullet:“During a skirmish, if your opponent has more ready Deployment cards than you, you may choose not to activate a group and pass play to your opponent.”