Minions and Infamy

By YOle, in Black Crusade

Greetings, friends!

Long time lurking here, first time posting so sorry if I make any stupid questions. I just really like this product and enjoy it with my group regularly though we often have questions that can't be answered at the table no matter how much we perused the books.

In our current session I am playing a Pirate Prince (from the Tome of Excess), focused on surrounding himself with capable minions (Saboteurs of Alcia are a pretty nice bunch) and proving himself as the finest swordsman in the entire galaxy. To further his own goals, he has stumbled upon some talk about the flesh shapers of Melancholia and how their rites could provide him with even more advantage in duels (meta - through unnatural characteristics) and, to achieve that, he would need to perform a certain ritual called the Rite of Fleshomulding. Through some research and a bunch of coin, as well as other methods of acquiring information, he has stumbled upon enough occult texts for his favoured minion, an Acedian cloister Saboteur, to perform the sacred rite and proceeded to raom the galaxy in search of a suitable spot and suitable offerings for the Prince of Pleasures.

Out of game speaking, I have prepared everything to enable my minion to perform the rite (he has the S.Lore(Occult) and a lot of modifiers) but I am interested in making this deal as sealed as possible (because DoSs count and the price of failure is steep). Now, since that saboteur is a superior minion I have already raised his intelligence by 15 (total 60) and his skill to +30. Would I be able, RAW, to purchase Mastery(S.Lore(Occult)) for him and, if I did, would he be able to use it, spending my Infamy points?

How are other instances where a minion might be called upon to use an Infamy point regulated?

Also, another question, although this one should probably be moved to a topic of it's own, I've read in several places on this forum that if a character has enough corruption to cross a threshold just by creation (most tome archetypes) that he's entitled to a roll on the Gifts table at that time. Can someone point me to a place in the book or ruling about this?

RAW you can buy him the traits but it's useless for him as he has no Infamy points - they don't get them and can't use them; it's what seperates them from Heretics, regardless of how good their stats might be.

Talents like Mastery, Killing Strike, etc, etc are useless for minions as a result.

Also, another question, although this one should probably be moved to a topic of it's own, I've read in several places on this forum that if a character has enough corruption to cross a threshold just by creation (most tome archetypes) that he's entitled to a roll on the Gifts table at that time. Can someone point me to a place in the book or ruling about this?

If you reach the threshold you roll as the rules intend it. Be it in character creation does not mater. More in fo in the Corruption and infamy chapter....

Also some point to make: Minions summoning daemons: The daemon will be bound to the minion and not the character.

Also worth to mention you can get 1 Daemon engine minion at infamy level 70.

Given how cheap slaves are on the acquisition just sacrificing extra to get the maximum 6 isn't hard.

RAW you can buy him the traits but it's useless for him as he has no Infamy points - they don't get them and can't use them; it's what seperates them from Heretics, regardless of how good their stats might be.

Talents like Mastery, Killing Strike, etc, etc are useless for minions as a result.

Awww, I was hoping for some sort of workaround but I guess it's not a problem... If I get him a best quality cerebral implant (+20 on lores, Unnat Int +2 for one extra success) and a Qsal Crystal Spire for a 2 step lighter test as well as hiring out two helpers for +20 to test and two extra successes, I think I can pretty reliably make the minion Fleshmould himself for Unnat Int +6 and from that point onward any rite of fleshmoulding it does (for instance on me) will net him the 6 degrees (assuming he succeeds, which he should on a 60 Int + 60 test). It's just that using a mastery talent sounded perfect to me ^^

As for the slaves and getting extra donors, that should not be a problem, although I did plan on roleplaying that bit about preparing 6 hand picked individuals, a gladiator that wins out of a hundred men in the arena for Unnat Strength/WS, a young and beautiful imperial noblewoman for the Fellowship, a kidnapped and corrupted astropath savant for the Willpower, all of them subdued and charmed and then drugged out of their minds on exotic drugs and spices before they are ritually prepared for the Fleshmoulding... stuff like that to honour Slaanesh and to make the game more insteresting instead of a simple roll-fest :)

If you reach the threshold you roll as the rules intend it. Be it in character creation does not mater. More in fo in the Corruption and infamy chapter....

Also some point to make: Minions summoning daemons: The daemon will be bound to the minion and not the character.

Also worth to mention you can get 1 Daemon engine minion at infamy level 70.

So, if I understand this correctly, for instance the 15 Corruption points I get at CC as a Pirate Prince from Tome of Excess count as a reached threshold (of 10) and make me roll on the table? I thought that's how it works, just wondering if there was an explicit ruling about it that I can point out to my GM.

I have decided to let daemonmongering and weaponmaking to our resident sorceror in the party and I think the daemon engine minions, however effective they may be, are simply too messy for my character to utilize. More of a gentle touch/velvet glove kind of guy that has his resources/hordes/minions/entranced NPCs handle the heavy lifting. Aside from him there are also 3 CSM in the party and that is quite enough for the gory high octane solutions :D

So, if I understand this correctly, for instance the 15 Corruption points I get at CC as a Pirate Prince from Tome of Excess count as a reached threshold (of 10) and make me roll on the table? I thought that's how it works, just wondering if there was an explicit ruling about it that I can point out to my GM.

Yes. as a Slaanesh worshipper drug addict the character roll an Infamy(0) as any other worthless pleasure seeking garbage....If the roll was a success he gets the attention of his divine bdsm-lord and get's a chance on the Slaaneshi table(9-5) of lusts and moans rolls a d100 and hopefully gets Hermaphrodite and some Space AIDs.... If our little slaaneshi pirate not that lucky he needs to roll in the regular table (9-1) as the rest of the lost and damned does....