Some movement questions

By Mattr0polis, in Talisman Rules Questions

Here are some weird movement & die roll questions that were brought up last night:

If you are forced (with something like Blizzard) to only move 1 space a turn do you still roll a die for movement? Basically are you allowed to roll still for the other reasons, like for moving The Grim Reaper, trying to get a 6 for the Troll's regenerate, or trying to get a 6 for Magic Carpet, even though you can only move 1 space currently?

I know the rules say that you do not roll a die for movement in the Inner Region, but what about for this kind of stuff? What about for stuff like the boatman, where it says "on your next turn instead of moving", do you roll then either?

Also, can you use teleport type spells and card text, when the Blizzard or other stuff like that is out, since you can only move 1 space?

Also, when characters have the Riding Horse, which lets you roll 2 dice for movement and add them together, do you add the 2 numbers together for stuff like the Troll's regenerate ability, or The Grim Reaper? Or do you count either die as it's number when rolling before adding them together for the horses? For example, does the Troll get to regenerate if he is using the Riding Horse and rolls two 3's? Or instead, when either die is a 6? Same for The Grim Reaper when you are using the Riding Horse, does he move when either die is a 1? Or if you are using the Riding Horse is it impossible to get a 1 since you add both together and end up with a total of at least 2 every time?

Thanks for any answers/help! :)

Mattr0polis said:

If you are forced (with something like Blizzard) to only move 1 space a turn do you still roll a die for movement? Basically are you allowed to roll still for the other reasons, like for moving The Grim Reaper, trying to get a 6 for the Troll's regenerate, or trying to get a 6 for Magic Carpet, even though you can only move 1 space currently?

I know the rules say that you do not roll a die for movement in the Inner Region, but what about for this kind of stuff? What about for stuff like the boatman, where it says "on your next turn instead of moving", do you roll then either?

Haven't rolled when the Blizzard/Slow Motion is still affecting play, just move 1 space. No rolling with Poltergeist either.

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

Mattr0polis said:

Also, can you use teleport type spells and card text, when the Blizzard or other stuff like that is out, since you can only move 1 space?

Too lazy to check if Ell has posted anything regarding the R4th in this matter, but I know the BI FAQ clarified that you can use Teleport when Blizzard in on-going, but you can teleport only 1 space still.

Mattr0polis said:

Also, when characters have the Riding Horse, which lets you roll 2 dice for movement and add them together, do you add the 2 numbers together for stuff like the Troll's regenerate ability, or The Grim Reaper? Or do you count either die as it's number when rolling before adding them together for the horses? For example, does the Troll get to regenerate if he is using the Riding Horse and rolls two 3's? Or instead, when either die is a 6? Same for The Grim Reaper when you are using the Riding Horse, does he move when either die is a 1? Or if you are using the Riding Horse is it impossible to get a 1 since you add both together and end up with a total of at least 2 every time?

Troll has to roll 1 die and get a 6, Reaper moves when you roll a 1 on your 1 die (or choose the 1 die from the 2 you can roll as Amazon). Riding Horse can't be comboed by the Troll or to move Reaper.

Ok, so:

-no rolling of movement die on any 'only move 1' type stuff.

-cannot use 'instead of rolling' abilities like the Elf's ability during 'only move 1' stuff, because you don't roll.

-can only teleport 1 space away during a blizzard.

-stuff like the Troll's regenerate & The Grim Reaper's movement are only applicable when you roll a single die for movement, or something like the Amazon with the 'pick one of the die'.

Got it! Awesome, thanks!

Mattr0polis said:

Ok, so:

-no rolling of movement die on any 'only move 1' type stuff.

-cannot use 'instead of rolling' abilities like the Elf's ability during 'only move 1' stuff, because you don't roll.

-can only teleport 1 space away during a blizzard.

-stuff like the Troll's regenerate & The Grim Reaper's movement are only applicable when you roll a single die for movement, or something like the Amazon with the 'pick one of the die'.

Got it! Awesome, thanks!

As far as i know, you cannot teleport while the blizard is active. gui%C3%B1o.gif But this is the revised rule.