Leia, Single Purpose and Rules Lawyering

By Norgrath, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

positioning can be key in certain situations.

As for charge?

You can take a move action, and all the limitations of hindering terrain and hostile figures applies.

Or you can charge without an attack, moving spaces and ignoring any speed restrictions.

The action "may" contain an attack. If you take the action and attack, then it is an action that has an attack.

If you take the action and do not attack, then it is an action that does not have an attack.

Hey everybody, Paul sent me this:

Hi Michael,

Single Purpose does not override the rule that a figure can use only one action to perform an attack each activation; only the rule that a figure can use a specific Special Action only once. So, Vader could still not use Brutality twice during the same activation by using Single Purpose.

Thanks!

Do we have an official answer to the original question yet?

Official answer won't come until 30 days after RTH release but given the discussion it's definitely a no.

Summarizing stuff:

  • Single purpose allows a figure to break the rule that says "A figure can perform each special action only once per activation" (RRG page 3)
  • This doesn't help with brutality as "A non-hero figure can only use one of its actions to perform an attack per activation. (RRG page 3)
  • This also stops things like what I was thinking of with Leia as "If a special action involves one or more attacks, this does count as the figure using an action to attack" (LTP page 6)
  • Special actions that have a "may perform an attack" clause don't count as performing an attack if you don't choose to perform the attack (confirmed by Paul Winchester in the email I quoted earlier). The applications of this are at present minimal (undamaged skirmish Garkhan using charge to move through figures after attacking is the only useful one I can think of (might be others if a Nexu using pounce doesn't count as voluntarily exiting its space)).