Conditions removal

By sellsoap, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi guys to all, i m new here!

So i have a question about Conditions removal:

All Condition cards mention "when a special action occurs, then remove it".

An example with Nexu: Nexu is stunned. I activate it and using Pounce, the above card text resolves instantly (since i make a special action), before i do the Pounce, so i can finally do it.

Is this correct logic?

And, if lets say a Rebel player was also stunned, my action would also remove his condition and vice versa?

Thanks !

You are misinterpreting the arrow icon. The arrow icon on each condition means to use this ability, it will cost 1 action. So when you first activate your Nexu, you must spend one of your actions to get rid of stunned, then use your second action to pounce if you wish.

Check out pg 2 of the RRG under "Abilities"

Edited by DarkJodo

Right -- the arrow doesn't mean "when you do an action you get to remove the condition", it means "while you have this condition, you also have available this special action which is to remove the condition" but using that special action (arrow) still requires spending one action, just like any other action. So the Nexu can definitely remove stun (first action) and then pounce (second action), but it cannot remove stun while pouncing and then do another action (like a movement).

Also note that stun only forbids you to attack or voluntarily leave your space, which is why removing the stun is a special action you can choose to take and not just an automatic loss of an action. For example heroes may choose to interact while stunned, or rest, or use a special action like Order (but not one that involves making an attack or moving, like Charge or Brutality).

so to get it right:

for condition removal the use of the arrow is 1 action, and the text after it is the second one, whereas normally the use of a special ability is 1 action? Correct?

I m a bit confused here...

You are misinterpreting the arrow icon. The arrow icon on each condition means to use this ability, it will cost 1 action. So when you first activate your Nexu, you must spend one of your actions to get rid of stunned, then use your second action to pounce if you wish.

Check out pg 2 of the RRG under "Abilities"

P2 mentions that : arrow: these abilities are performed as an action. Just that. Moreover at the Actions section (P3) mentions that the use of a special ability costs one action.

Is this a special rule for removal valid only when under a condition? I cant find any text or rule mentioning specifically "condition removal".

It doesnt say to use it, you need 2 actions as you suggest (1 for the arrow and then the 2nd for the actual text i.e. the ability itself).

Furthermore, the condition card says: arrow when this situation occurs . In my view it doesnt tell: use the arrow to remove a condition. It tells you when this situation occurs . It also doesnt tells you that this situation must occur from you or during your activation. So, if any player makes a special action, the removal triggers instantly, and all condition cards on the play area are removed.

Edited by yeyo

The special action arrow only applies to the action described in the text immediately to the right of the arrow. There is no shared logic between special action arrows on different abilities. The special action arrow literally means "This action is special and can only be done once per activation" and nothing else. The game rules are meant to be read very literally. If two dots are not connected in the rules, you shouldn't connect them yourself :-)

So, as others have pointed out, Stunned is a condition that applies new rules to gameplay which supercedes all other rules. One of these new rules is that you can choose to remove it using an action. It happens to have the "special" keyword applied to it. One can argue that its not necessary for it to be a special action since once you remove the condition you also get rid of the special action that comes with it.

I think the main reason why it is a special action (and not just a regular action) is that my group did come across this rare scenario:

1) Figure is Stunned outside of its activation

2) Figure is activated

3) Figure uses first action to remove Stunned

4) Figure is interrupted, attacked and Stunned again

5) Figure can't use its second action to remove Stunned as it is a special action you can only do once per activation

6) Imperial player (me) got very frustrated ;-)

You could also argue that since you discard the condition and receive a new condition, which just happens to be of the same kind, the special action is another special action and can be removed just fine

1) Figure is Stunned outside of its activation

2) Figure is activated

3) Figure uses first action to remove Stunned

4) Figure is interrupted, attacked and Stunned again

5) Figure can't use its second action to remove Stunned as it is a special action you can only do once per activation

6) Imperial player (me) got very frustrated ;-)

This sounds wrong. The only way to apply 4) that comes to my mind would be Jyn. But Jyn's ability triggers at the start of the opponent's activation. After you have used your first action, it's no longer the beginning of your activation and Jyn would no longer be able to shot and stun you ...

Edited by DerBaer

All Condition cards mention "when a special action occurs, then remove it".

That's not correct. And it's not complicated.

To make this easy, the cards say: "Perform an action to remove the condition."

1) Figure is Stunned outside of its activation

2) Figure is activated

3) Figure uses first action to remove Stunned

4) Figure is interrupted, attacked and Stunned again

5) Figure can't use its second action to remove Stunned as it is a special action you can only do once per activation

6) Imperial player (me) got very frustrated ;-)

This sounds wrong. The only way to apply 4) that comes to my mind would be Jyn. But Jyn's ability triggers at the start of the opponent's activation. After you have used your first action, it's no longer the beginning of your activation and Jyn would no longer be able to shot and stun you ...

I think you are right. It was indeed Jyn; but it was also in the beginning of our IA journey, before I knew my own (Imperial) rules well enough to have the mental surplus to also know all details of the Rebel abilities. It has never come up again, possibly because the guy playing Jyn reread the ability and realised the "start of activation" bit meant he couldn't pull that stunt again. He was so proud, too, he finally did something to aggrevate me, with all the strain I kept aggrevating the Rebels with ;-)

I still don't get a clear answer guys. So using a special action to remove a condition takes 2 of your actions or one, as suggested in the beggining?

Just one

All Condition cards mention "when a special action occurs, then remove it".

That's not correct. And it's not complicated.

To make this easy, the cards say: "Perform an action to remove the condition."

If you read the Condition section in RRG, this is what is written exactly. "when this situation occurs" Not perform an action, not anything else.

Just one

finally. thx a lot.

so Nexu use the pounce, the stun is removed and then resolves the pounce (at the cost of 1 action).

Edited by yeyo

No.

The Nexu starts it's activation while it is stunned.

First action: Remove stun using the special action on the Stun Card

Second Action: Pounce

First action: Remove stun using the special action on the Stun Card

Second Action: Pounce

Didn't I say the same exact thing in the very first reply of this post? ;)

Edited by DarkJodo

thx all of you guys!

Just one

finally. thx a lot.

so Nexu use the pounce, the stun is removed and then resolves the pounce (at the cost of 1 action).

On the stun card it states: Special Action: Discard this condition.

You have to use that special action not another special action like pounce to remove stun.

No.

The Nexu starts it's activation while it is stunned.

First action: Remove stun using the special action on the Stun Card

Second Action: Pounce

You are incorrect.

Removing stun is a special action and so is pounce. You can't do both in the same turn.

Edited by OpticFusion

You can use two different special actions in the same turn, you just can't use the same special action twice

• A figure can perform each special action ability (listed on his

cards by A) only once per activation.
Edited by Hatting

You can use two different special actions in the same turn, you just can't use the same special action twice

• A figure can perform each special action ability (listed on his

cards by A) only once per activation.

I stand corrected. Ok that is great news.