I have a question about Scouts causing discards after "combat." Does a defender need to be assigned for it to be counted as having "survived a combat," or could a Scout card just attack a base in the absence of defenders and still causes a discard.
Scouting After "Combat"
This discussion has been had in another thread and no conclusive answer was derived, though people tend to be leaning towards discard occurring even if there are no defenders. We'll see what the devs say.
I thought we were leaning towards NO discard with no defender. Shows how much I was paying attention to the thread. LOL
The way I see it as combat is described as having steps. If there's no defenders then the combat just doesn't stop there else the game would be impossible to win.
To counter that viewpoint, which I respect as completely valid, you can easily argue that to even have a combat would require an attacker & defender.
For my reposte I would ask where there is an escape clause to in the combat sequence that activates the moment no defenders are delcared?
The rules state that "Attacking an opponent requires engaging in combat"..., so if you don't declare a defender the capital becomes the sole defender, and takes the combat damage. And then the Scout keyword would trigger.
So, whenever you see that keyword, ATTACK and KILL! Don't let them live to discard your hand.
Hope this helps.
comicthoughts actually has the perfect understanding and presentation. When there is an attacker with a positive aount of power there is combat damage that is generated. Where that damage is applied depends on what available targets there, your city zone or units, but there is always someone on the defenders side receiving damage from the combat.
dormouse said:
comicthoughts actually has the perfect understanding and presentation. When there is an attacker with a positive aount of power there is combat damage that is generated. Where that damage is applied depends on what available targets there, your city zone or units, but there is always someone on the defenders side receiving damage from the combat.
I don't think damage is technically necessary, though. The five phases of combat progress regardless. So if you declared an attack with a 0-power Scout (assuming one exists or will) it should still trigger.
You are right, the damage is nota condition of combat but a result. I was pointing it out to show how combat works regardless of whether there is a defender... though I cannot imagine ho likely you are to be able to challenge with a Scout card with 0 power and not have it opposed and killed. You'd have to have it attack with another unit that your opponent wants to kill more than the card that is going to strip a card form his hand... possible, but highly irregular.
Mostly I could see it being an issue early in the game, before all three of your opponent's zones have managed to get units in place. It might also be an issue for cards which reduce the power of attackers though - I can certainly see that debate coming up.
I'm sure it will at somepoint which is why I'm glad you pointed that out.
I can easily see this situation coming up in early game. Especially if you attack an undefended section of a capitol then have your power reduced (by demoralize etc). The scout ability would trigger becasue the attacking unit would survive combat even though it failed to do any damage.
yep, happened to me tonight. I had one in my Battlefield and Quest, and none in my Kingdom. He hit my kingdom with a unit and a scout unit and we played that I lost the combat which the scout survived and therefore I lost a card. It made complete sense.
Good points and precisely how it should work by my reading of the rules.
First of all, sorry about my english.. jeje
I have a question.
What happen if you attack (with an scout unit) a zone that its burning and doesnt have units defending.
1) Your oponent discards a card or not???
2) NO you CANT!!
thnks
Juan
The target is valid (there are no rules against it) and as long as teh scout unit survives the apply damage phase he should have to discard a card.
Thx for the answer dormouse!!!!
Juan