Jyn's Hair Trigger in Skirmish and command cards

By ChrisLS2, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hey, folks, my friend and I came across an interesting timing question regarding the timing of Jyn's Stun surge ability when used with Hair Trigger and the command card Rally. The text in question:

Hair Trigger: At the start of a hostile figure's activation, you may interrupt to perform an attack that targets that figure. Limit once per round.

Rally (Any Figure): Use at the start of your activation to discard all of your Harmful conditions.

So a Royal Guard activates, Jyn interrupts with Hair Trigger, shooting the Royal Guard and getting a Stun surge onto the Guard. Could the Imperial player use the Rally card to immediately remove that Stun , or has the start of the figure's activation passed? Or is this a situation where the player with Initiative makes the decision (per Conflicts, pg 9 of the Rules Reference)?

Thanks!

Or is this a situation where the player with Initiative makes the decision (per Conflicts, pg 9 of the Rules Reference)?

This only works for mission rules.

I'd say this depends on Initiative:

During a skirmish, mission rules are resolved first, followed

by effects from the player with initiative, then effects from his
opponent.

If the Jyn player has initiative, the target could discard a condition. If the target's player has initiative, it couldn't discard the condition.

Edited by jacenat

I concur with jacenat. He is correct.

RRG, pg. 9 - Conflicts:

• While attacking, mission rules are resolved first, followed by effects from the attacker (including figures friendly to him), then effects from the defender (including figures friendly to him).

This is for Skirmish... Well I'll be...

Moving on...

Edited by thestag

RRG, pg. 9 - Conflicts:

Conflicts in a Campaign

During a campaign, mission rules are resolved first, followed by effects from the Imperial player, then effects from the Rebel players.

• If multiple mission rules would resolve at the same time, the Imperial player decides the order of resolution.

...This is a skirmish question. Not campaign...

Got it: whoever has initiative has their effects resolve first, then the person without initiative. So if the Royal Guard player has initiative, they would have to play their command card first and thus could not remove the effect of Jyn's attack, but if Jyn's player has initiative, her attack resolves first, and the Royal Guard can then respond with the command card.

Thanks!